Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 4, 2013

Daniels puts freeze on Purdue tuition

Well, Mitch Daniels, take a walk through campus. Bask in the smiles, knowing nods and high fives. Yes, you froze tuition for the next two years on Purdue University’s West Lafayette campus. You, sir, have earned a walk as president among grateful subjects.

That’s right. On Friday, Daniels announced that students on Purdue’s main campus would see the same base tuition rate — $9,900 a year for Indiana residents — that they’re paying this school year. (Student rates still will include an additional $92 a year that students approved several years ago to finance the new student rec center.)

In real money, a freeze would save Purdue students $445 — based on a 4.5 percent increase — next year. In other words, about one-third of the $1,370 Purdue figures students need for books and materials each year, according to the Purdue Data Digest.

“In this period of national economic stagnation, it’s time for us to hit the pause button on tuition increases,” Daniels said. “We will fit our spending to their budgets - not the other way around.”

It would be totally fake to feign surprise. Given Daniels’ frequent complaints about the increasing costs of a college education and his promises to make some noise at Purdue – not to mention in higher education nationally — holding the line on tuition for the next two years isn’t straying much.

That is, that isn’t straying much for the former governor.

For Purdue, where tuition has gone up every year since 1976 — and has roughly doubled in the past dozen years – past mentions of carrying one year’s amount over to the next year has been roundly scoffed. Greater tuition meant more resource which meant a more valuable degree. Or so the logic went.

What makes Daniels’ proclamation all the more powerful is the timing of the thing. Generally tuition increases wait until after the Indiana General Assembly finishes work on the next two-year state budget. That meant students often were gone for the summer when the next round of tuition increases were settled.

So it’s a bit of a leap of faith for Daniels and Purdue, locking into this year’s rates for the next two years without a guarantee of state funding.

For that leap, give it up for Daniels.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll