Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 2, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 2, 2012

Kokomo — Superintendent is outsourcing our kids

There is an education time bomb ticking in Indiana, and Tony Bennett wants to blame teachers. He should be looking in the mirror.

We are about to lose local control of our schools to the corporate, for-profit, privatization movement. State School Superintendent Bennett is selling off inner-city schools to private, profit-motive companies and charter schools. Studies show that these schools either fail or do no better than public schools, even though they are often given more money, more staff and more resources, and they drain money away from public schools. This year Fort Wayne Public Schools lost $2.6 million to private sector schools.

Why is Bennett doing this? Follow the money. Check out the big donors to his campaign, big corporations and testing services that stand to make a profit from privatizing schools. If Bennett wins re-election, they profit. Is this good for Indiana kids? We would like to ask Tony, but he is elusive, failing to show up four times in my town for a public forum.

How is he setting up schools to “fail”? By spending millions on testing programs (see his donors) that don’t begin to assess all that schools really do. He repeats the dubious message that schools are “failing,” ignoring schools’ many successes (the graduation rate in the 1950s was 50 percent; now it is 85 percent and climbing).

Reports around the state say teacher morale is at an all-time low, stress is high, and good people are leaving the profession. Think what will happen when Bennett releases his grading system (probably after the election) publicly labeling schools F, D, C, B, or A, all based on scores on a written test. Let’s guess how that will come out. Indianapolis Public Schools will largely “fail.” Affluent Carmel will be “A+”, and Bennett will reward them with his “merit” pay plan. IPS will be turned over to the profiteers who will do no better and maybe worse, and some of the hardest working teachers in the profession will be publicly humiliated.

What is the elephant in the room? Bennett and his friends don’t want to admit what studies have shown: that the No. 1 predictor of lower functioning schools is their level of poverty. This is obvious to any teacher who has taught in the inner city. Having visited over 130 schools in Indiana, I have great respect for these teachers. No one works harder under adverse conditions than they do.

Through the foresight of our founders, public education was established as a pillar of our democracy. Our public schools do not select their clientele, nor do they reject them. They accept everyone, whether rich, poor, non-English speaking, homeless, disabled, disadvantaged, apathetic, parentless, or those without clout or hope. We should be supporting this diversity and those hardy teachers who face these challenges every day. Why let charter schools feed at the public trough while siphoning off resources from the students who need them most?

We have to stop Tony Bennett from outsourcing our kids.

Dale Glenn, Ed.D., Bloomington

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll