Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 15, 2013

Letter to the Editor: March 15, 2013

Celebrate responsibly this St. Patrick’s Day

For many Americans, March represents the beginning of spring, competitive basketball tournaments and St. Patrick’s Day. Celebrating the patron saint of Ireland with the belief that everyone is Irish on March 17 has opened the door to several festive traditions in the U.S. The holiday is widely celebrated with tributes to Irish culture, displays of green, parades and most commonly, heavy drinking.

During the month of March in 2012, there were 524 alcohol-related collisions in Indiana. Of these collisions, six fatalities were reported. On St. Patrick’s Day in 2010, 32 percent of fatalities from motor vehicle accidents were connected to drivers with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or above.

Statistics illustrate that a celebration of a patron saint has now become a symbol for partying in the U.S. These trends have caught the concern and attention of law enforcement and responsible alcohol consumption and underage drinking prevention organizations, including Project RAD (Responsible Alcohol Distribution). In order to make a change, moderation and control must be highly encouraged and promoted during St. Patrick’s Day events.

The Indiana Criminal Justice Institute is currently working with 250 state and local law enforcement agencies on a high-visibility crackdown on impaired and dangerous driving known as “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over.” The joint forces are deploying sobriety checkpoints, saturation patrols and other enforcement tactics to detect and remove impaired drivers from the roads.

 The Indiana Association of Beverage Retailers, a group composed of liquor store owners and a Project RAD partner, applauds law enforcement for its efforts in curbing underage drinking and excessive drinking and driving. This year, we have asked our members to arm their customers with facts and figures about the dangers associated with binge drinking on St. Patrick’s Day. As small business owners, our members are part of the community, and they want to ensure safe streets and highways this weekend.

Choose to drink responsibly so that you can be around for next year’s celebration, too!

John Livengood,  President/CEO, Indiana Association of Beverage Retailers

        For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Kokomo Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll