Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

April 26, 2013

Keep insects under control

— Last year, a drier-than-normal spring progressed into a severe drought. Subsequently mosquitoes weren’t the problem they usually are during spring in north central Indiana.

That’s about to change.

Between 10 and 12 inches of rain has fallen in Kokomo over the last 30 days, online maps of the National Weather Service say. The rain and flooding that has plagued the area has created ideal breeding grounds for mosquitoes, health officials say.

What’s more, the wet weather could revive mosquito eggs that didn’t hatch last year, David Fiess of the Allen County Health Department told WANE-TV this week. He said mosquito eggs can survive up to 10 years.

There’s a lot you can do to head off mosquitoes this spring and all summer long. The biggest thing is to make sure you’re not providing a breeding ground.

Mosquitoes love discarded tires and stopped up gutters. Check around your house and yard to make sure you don’t have any place that collects standing water.

And this isn’t a one-time task. You’ll need to make the rounds of your yard at least once a week.

Doing that should be enough in most yards to keep most mosquitoes at bay.

They love to lay eggs in standing water, but it takes a week to 10 days for the eggs to hatch, so as long as you don’t allow water to stand for that long, the mosquitoes will be out of business.

Of course, if you have an old tire swing tied to the tree out back, you don’t have to go out and dump the water every week. Just punch a couple of holes in the bottom to keep the water from collecting in the first place.

There are spots you just can’t drain. If you know of an area where water consistently collects, call the Howard County Health Department. The department can treat the standing water with a chemical that will keep mosquito larvae from maturing.

There’s no way to eliminate mosquitoes entirely. No matter what you do to make your property mosquito-proof, a few of the pests will likely survive when warm weather finally arrives. For those, health experts recommend you wear repellent, particularly in the early morning and in the cool of the evening when mosquitoes are most active. They also recommend wearing long-sleeved shirts and long pants.

The bottom line is that pesky mosquitoes don’t have to ruin your summer fun. With a little work and some common sense, you can keep the irritating insects under control.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll