Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 4, 2013

May 4, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

‘Reasons to keep hope in humanity’

Sherry Schulte of Kokomo sends a Cheer written by many members of the Schulte and Dwyer families:

“The Schulte and Dwyer families would like to extend our deepest gratitude to the wonderful people in the Kokomo area for their support after the accident that took the lives of Dennis and Judy Schulte and severely injured Karina and Elias Schulte.

“So many acts of kindness have comforted our family members. We’d like to send a special note of gratitude to the following people and organizations: Russiaville United Methodist Church for the luncheon and Easter Memorial Service; Western and Northwestern high school staff members for the memorial service held in the Western gym and all those who attended; the men and women of the VFW who performed the military honors at the memorial; Jeff Stout and the Stout & Sons Funeral Home; the Rev. Ron Mann and the Rev. Steve Cole for their words and direction at the memorial service; Adrienne and Brett Bergman who started the fundraiser online; the Community Foundation of Howard County Inc. for managing the Schulte Fund for Future Educators; Mandy Wright-Jarrett, Christy Ruch and others for organizing the ‘Music for Strength’ benefit concert; Gary Rhum for donating his space and time for the ‘Music for Strength’ concert, and all the people who attended and donated at the ‘Music for Strength’ concert.

“There have been many other acts of kindness and heart working quietly behind the scenes — phone calls, kind words, money donated, etc. So many people are there for us in ways too numerous to mention. It is heartwarming to know that even during tragedies there are many reasons to keep hope in humanity.

“Thank you again, Kokomo and Howard County. Your generosity will always be remembered.”

The charges haven’t been proven

Bob Bollinger of Greentown sends this Jeer for the Tribune’s reporting of the police investigation into the Wagoner clinics:

“The recent reporting on the legal problems of the employees of the Wagoner clinic in the Kokomo Tribune have the trappings of a witch hunt. I can’t help wondering what these people ever did to the Tribune to warrant this feeding frenzy that’s going on in the Tribune’s coverage.

“I learned in the Kokomo school system that a defendant is innocent until proven guilty in a court of law. In this case, the ol’ Trib’s ready to lock them up and throw the key away.

“These people, whom I have no relationship with, have no forum to defend themselves when their faces are plastered on the front page of the paper in jail garb. I’ll bet they wonder what happened to cause them to go from respected members of the community to pariahs without any charges being proven against them.

“I’d like to say that I hope they’re innocent of the charges. I also hope that at some point in the future that all this can be put behind them and they can get on with their lives knowing that not everyone in this community had them convicted before they had their day in court.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll