Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 4, 2013

May 4, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

‘Reasons to keep hope in humanity’

Sherry Schulte of Kokomo sends a Cheer written by many members of the Schulte and Dwyer families:

“The Schulte and Dwyer families would like to extend our deepest gratitude to the wonderful people in the Kokomo area for their support after the accident that took the lives of Dennis and Judy Schulte and severely injured Karina and Elias Schulte.

“So many acts of kindness have comforted our family members. We’d like to send a special note of gratitude to the following people and organizations: Russiaville United Methodist Church for the luncheon and Easter Memorial Service; Western and Northwestern high school staff members for the memorial service held in the Western gym and all those who attended; the men and women of the VFW who performed the military honors at the memorial; Jeff Stout and the Stout & Sons Funeral Home; the Rev. Ron Mann and the Rev. Steve Cole for their words and direction at the memorial service; Adrienne and Brett Bergman who started the fundraiser online; the Community Foundation of Howard County Inc. for managing the Schulte Fund for Future Educators; Mandy Wright-Jarrett, Christy Ruch and others for organizing the ‘Music for Strength’ benefit concert; Gary Rhum for donating his space and time for the ‘Music for Strength’ concert, and all the people who attended and donated at the ‘Music for Strength’ concert.

“There have been many other acts of kindness and heart working quietly behind the scenes — phone calls, kind words, money donated, etc. So many people are there for us in ways too numerous to mention. It is heartwarming to know that even during tragedies there are many reasons to keep hope in humanity.

“Thank you again, Kokomo and Howard County. Your generosity will always be remembered.”

The charges haven’t been proven

Bob Bollinger of Greentown sends this Jeer for the Tribune’s reporting of the police investigation into the Wagoner clinics:

“The recent reporting on the legal problems of the employees of the Wagoner clinic in the Kokomo Tribune have the trappings of a witch hunt. I can’t help wondering what these people ever did to the Tribune to warrant this feeding frenzy that’s going on in the Tribune’s coverage.

“I learned in the Kokomo school system that a defendant is innocent until proven guilty in a court of law. In this case, the ol’ Trib’s ready to lock them up and throw the key away.

“These people, whom I have no relationship with, have no forum to defend themselves when their faces are plastered on the front page of the paper in jail garb. I’ll bet they wonder what happened to cause them to go from respected members of the community to pariahs without any charges being proven against them.

“I’d like to say that I hope they’re innocent of the charges. I also hope that at some point in the future that all this can be put behind them and they can get on with their lives knowing that not everyone in this community had them convicted before they had their day in court.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll