Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 4, 2013

May 4, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

(Continued)

‘An asset to this community’

Pam and Gary Shuck of Windfall send this Cheer for a group of community activists:

“Citizens for Responsible Development, we thank you and are grateful for each and every one of you.

“These words aren’t sufficient but come from our hearts.

“You are an asset to this community. Your bright young minds and collective talents, along with teamwork, are amazing.

“You give unity, strength and hope to us who weren’t given a voice. You apply full efforts and knowledge, put in endless hours and focus to help others in the battle of the wind farms.

“You place your own lives on hold, which shows your selflessness, character and dedication to what is right. You’re already winners! You’re a force to be reckoned with!

“May God continue to be your strength and shine light upon the truth.”

Please fulfill your responsibilities

Amanda Baldwin sends this Jeer for pet abandonment:

“I’ve recently learned about some pet owners who recklessly abandoned their pets in the homes they abandoned during the recent flooding, and I need to just tell them, very publicly, shame on you. If the situation is not safe for you and your children to remain there, then it is obviously not safe for a domestic pet.

“You take on a large amount of responsibility when you decide to become what many like to call a pet parent. You accept that for the duration of that living creature’s life, you are responsible for them 100 percent.

“That includes, but is not limited to, saving them from impending doom in a natural disaster. Shame, shame, shame.”

Good service ‘is what they do’

Ray Day of Kokomo sends this Cheer for Indy Tire:

“I want to send this Cheer to a business here in Kokomo on the bypass. It is to Indy Tire.

“We had a flat on the daughter’s car. It was pouring down raining, and since I haven’t gotten my strength back, I could not change it. I called Indy Tire, which I have used before and explained to them my situation.

“Even though it was raining hard, they sent out one of their service men and he fixed it without any complaints that it was raining. That made my day, Debbie could use her car, and I could continue with whatever chores I had to do without interruption.

“It is people like those at Indy Tire who make your day. I will use them again, and I know that it will be good service because that is what they do.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll