Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 22, 2013

Would you pay extra?

— In November 2007, then-mayor-elect Greg Goodnight was considering spending priorities for his administration’s first year. Citywide tornado sirens didn’t make the list.

The Kokomo Common Council passed on first reading an appropriation of $144,000 for sirens at each of the city’s fire stations. Goodnight said he wanted the city to pursue a warning system in which emergency management would call home lines and cellphones with weather alerts.

“If we can save that money and still have a better system, let’s take our time on that,” Goodnight said.

The council tabled the siren proposal later that month.

But five-and-a-half years later, despite offering Kokomo households below-cost radios that broadcast warnings and watches directly from the National Weather Service, some still believe the Goodnight administration must invest in relics of the Cold War.

And we expect to hear from them again, after the massive tornado that killed scores of children and adults in Moore, Okla., Monday.

“You can go out and ask the public whether they would rather have radios or sirens,” Councilman Mike Wyant, D-1st, told his colleagues at a caucus meeting two years ago. “They want sirens, not radios.”

Television stations with powerful radar can text weather updates to cellphones. Kokomo residents can get information about severe weather 24 hours a day.

And though no study exists affirming the effectiveness of tornado sirens, though Cedar Park, Texas — an Austin suburb of 80,000 — removed its sirens as after-the-fact technology, some residents still want to invest in expensive, 30-foot pacifiers.

City controller Randy Morris told councilmen the best estimate for equipping Kokomo with sirens was about $300,000, not including the cost of building towers and purchasing property easements — and that was back in 2011.

Considering annexation increased the city’s geographic size by 40 percent, the price for these Information Age security blankets now could be as high as $500,000.

If city residents want tornado sirens constructed throughout Kokomo, and the issue comes before the city council once again, we recommend the few like-minded councilmen propose financing such a project by way of the state’s Barrett Law. The council can issue a special assessment upon residents outside of property taxes.

If people truly want tornado sirens, they’ll gladly pay a one-time fee for them.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll