Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 17, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 17, 2013

Wind farm not worth the risk to county

An international company Juwi’s has proposed Prairie Breeze Wind Farm Project, which comprises a cluster of 94 industrial wind turbines in Prairie and Liberty Townships in Tipton. Concern led me, as a physician, to do online research on health hazards that arise from industrial wind turbines.

In Europe, industrial wind turbines have been used for decades, and a number of health studies have been done. There has been growing evidence in Europe as well as in the U. S. that a considerable amount of low-frequency noise (infrasound) emitted by the commercial wind turbines causes undesirable effects on the human body. The symptoms of what is referred to as “wind turbine syndrome” include headaches, ear pain, ringing in the ear, dizziness, vertigo, nausea, uncomfortable internal pulsation, poor concentration, sleep disturbance, anxiety and depression. These effects may appear immediately and may resolve upon getting out of range of turbines.

As opposed to smaller wind turbines, these nearly 500-feet-tall industrial-size wind turbines have large turning blades (almost 160 feet) which cause significant pulsating air pressure changes in the surrounding area. The epidemiological studies have shown that people who live within 1.4 to 2.0 km (0.9 to 1¼ miles) from turbines are at risk for developing adverse health effects.

The problem with infrasound is that it can be carried over a distance and it is transmitted through the structural walls. Pulsating internal organ sensation can be intermittent and variable in magnitude, so the human body cannot get use to it. Pulsations are often strong enough to cause frequent nighttime awakenings. Ear pressure/pain may be similar to what is experienced on airplanes. The effect is ongoing, day and night, and it is physically and psychologically stressful.

Studies to date have not defined at what distance from the wind turbines potential adverse health effects will become negligible. A significant number of people in the community who live near these may be exposed to potential health hazards.

We are changing something “green” and “natural” (wind) into something not green (ever-fluctuating, pulsing air pressure field).

Industrial wind energy production is a new type of environmental pollution that is sweeping our country in the name of “green energy.”

Our community should not give up our valuable environment and should not expose ourselves to unnecessary health hazards for a monetary compensation. What good is the money if no one wants to or can live here because the industrial wind turbines have taken over our land? We have many ways to enrich our community, but this is not one of them.

Mika Fujii, M.D., Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll