Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 17, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 17, 2013

Wind farm not worth the risk to county

An international company Juwi’s has proposed Prairie Breeze Wind Farm Project, which comprises a cluster of 94 industrial wind turbines in Prairie and Liberty Townships in Tipton. Concern led me, as a physician, to do online research on health hazards that arise from industrial wind turbines.

In Europe, industrial wind turbines have been used for decades, and a number of health studies have been done. There has been growing evidence in Europe as well as in the U. S. that a considerable amount of low-frequency noise (infrasound) emitted by the commercial wind turbines causes undesirable effects on the human body. The symptoms of what is referred to as “wind turbine syndrome” include headaches, ear pain, ringing in the ear, dizziness, vertigo, nausea, uncomfortable internal pulsation, poor concentration, sleep disturbance, anxiety and depression. These effects may appear immediately and may resolve upon getting out of range of turbines.

As opposed to smaller wind turbines, these nearly 500-feet-tall industrial-size wind turbines have large turning blades (almost 160 feet) which cause significant pulsating air pressure changes in the surrounding area. The epidemiological studies have shown that people who live within 1.4 to 2.0 km (0.9 to 1¼ miles) from turbines are at risk for developing adverse health effects.

The problem with infrasound is that it can be carried over a distance and it is transmitted through the structural walls. Pulsating internal organ sensation can be intermittent and variable in magnitude, so the human body cannot get use to it. Pulsations are often strong enough to cause frequent nighttime awakenings. Ear pressure/pain may be similar to what is experienced on airplanes. The effect is ongoing, day and night, and it is physically and psychologically stressful.

Studies to date have not defined at what distance from the wind turbines potential adverse health effects will become negligible. A significant number of people in the community who live near these may be exposed to potential health hazards.

We are changing something “green” and “natural” (wind) into something not green (ever-fluctuating, pulsing air pressure field).

Industrial wind energy production is a new type of environmental pollution that is sweeping our country in the name of “green energy.”

Our community should not give up our valuable environment and should not expose ourselves to unnecessary health hazards for a monetary compensation. What good is the money if no one wants to or can live here because the industrial wind turbines have taken over our land? We have many ways to enrich our community, but this is not one of them.

Mika Fujii, M.D., Kokomo

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll