Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 22, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 22, 2013

Why are students nixing urban schools?

This letter is in response to various articles recently read concerning the proposed House Bill 1381 — mainly directed to author Mike Karickhoff of Kokomo, and co-authors Terri Austin of Anderson, Ed Clere of New Albany and Kevin Mahan of Hartford City.

HB 1381 would ban school districts from accepting only the brightest transfer students while turning away those with special needs, low test scores and minor disciplinary problems. While I agree this could be a problem, there is more to it than districts choosing students who will or will not be accepted into receiving districts.

It is all about money. For instance, look at Anderson. Enrollment has declined by 18.9 percent or 1,663 students between the 2009-10 and 2011-12 school years. At $13,000 per student per year in funding, the Anderson district could realize a decline of $21.6 million in state funding.

Kokomo-Center Schools could see a funding drop of $4.8 million over the same time period; New Albany, a drop of $4.7 million, and Blackford County, a decline of $1.6 million.

The bigger issue: Why are students choosing to leave urban districts to attend rural districts? Rather than letting our state government dictate another item that should be decided locally, those crying foul should step back and look at what can be done to keep in-district students from leaving.

Don’t cry foul if things don’t go your way. Step back and hit a 3-pointer next time down the court.

Chris Smith, Liberty Center

 

Obama seeks defeat of all conservatives

So here’s what I believe is happening in Washington: Obama comes up with the sequester and blames it on the opposing party. He really doesn’t want to compromise and doesn’t take criticism well. He likes to circumvent Congress with executive orders. He hasn’t governed so far; he’s campaigned for six years, but if he can replace the House in 2014, that is when he’ll start governing.

He won’t govern; he will rule. Does this sound like a dictator?

He tells department heads to make it as hard as possible on people because of the sequester. He doesn’t have a problem with spending a couple million dollars flying Air Force One to play golf with Tiger Woods or shutting down White House tours for kids on spring break. I have never seen a president be so petty, not even Lyndon Johnson.

So here is the goal: Eliminate the conservatives in the next election. Then, he can put in place his progressive, radical agenda.

There is a fine blue line that protects this country. There is an even finer line of conservatives, excluding Sens. John McCain and Lindsey Graham, who are keeping our Constitution in place. If those conservatives are gone, we are in trouble.

We should be very concerned about the huge stockpile of weapons and ammunition. More than 1 billion rounds of ammunition have been ordered, of which most are a hollow-point shell that cannot be used in wars because they explode in the body. Evidently they can be used on people of this country.

We should also be concerned with the armored cars and drones this administration is building up in this country under the guise of Homeland Security. Very few know what is going on. The rest need to start asking questions before it is too late.

People are crying out for real news, and the media is not informing us. So do your research and check out what I have written.

Jim Richardson, Sharpsville

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll