Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 23, 2013

Letter to the Editor: March 23, 2013

Our battle between the ‘red’ and ‘blue’

Our nation is divided into two political ideologies: conservative and socialist. Those states with politically dominant, large cities are predominately Democratic (blue states), and those states that are comprised of small towns and rural communities are predominately Republican (red states).

The federal government has lost its ability to govern, why? Because the president and Senate are socialist and the House of Representatives is conservative — polar opposites politically, leaving little room for compromise.

America is losing its democracy through the free electoral system. The election in 2008 neutralized the power of the two-party system, thus removing the safeguards and balance of power against the dictatorial powers of one-party rule. In just two years America experienced a great descent into socialism.

Is it our destiny to live in a nation that has lost its moral anchor and spiritual compass? We are now set adrift without absolutes or a moral compass to direct our activities. Our schools and media have sown the wind of secular humanism and moral relativism; they teach that there is no longer an absolute good or evil. As a result we are now reaping a whirlwind of corruption, pornography, sex crimes and staggering violence on our streets. Our society, as reflected in its media, schools, courts and government, has progressively abandoned the moral teachings of Christianity. We cannot hope for a future election to save America; that train left the station on Election Day 2012.

On March 4, 1789, the Constitution of the United States became the supreme law of our nation. It provided two important blessings: (1) It united the states as a single entity, setting the stage for strength and growth protecting us from tyranny abroad and (2) it stated the rights of the individual and the limitations of government, thus protecting us from tyranny at home.

The Declaration of Independence states that whenever any form of government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the right of the people to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new government.

President James Madison said that the powers delegated by the Constitution to the federal government are few and defined. Those which are to remain in the states’ government are numerous and indefinite.

America’s liberty may be endangered by the abuses of liberty as well as the abuses of power. We can only guess how the battle between the red and blue will end, or how soon America may bring on its own self-destruction, but we do know that God will settle the question between good and evil.

Ondis Brantley, Russiaville

 

        For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Kokomo Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll