Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

March 23, 2013

Letter to the Editor: March 23, 2013

Our battle between the ‘red’ and ‘blue’

Our nation is divided into two political ideologies: conservative and socialist. Those states with politically dominant, large cities are predominately Democratic (blue states), and those states that are comprised of small towns and rural communities are predominately Republican (red states).

The federal government has lost its ability to govern, why? Because the president and Senate are socialist and the House of Representatives is conservative — polar opposites politically, leaving little room for compromise.

America is losing its democracy through the free electoral system. The election in 2008 neutralized the power of the two-party system, thus removing the safeguards and balance of power against the dictatorial powers of one-party rule. In just two years America experienced a great descent into socialism.

Is it our destiny to live in a nation that has lost its moral anchor and spiritual compass? We are now set adrift without absolutes or a moral compass to direct our activities. Our schools and media have sown the wind of secular humanism and moral relativism; they teach that there is no longer an absolute good or evil. As a result we are now reaping a whirlwind of corruption, pornography, sex crimes and staggering violence on our streets. Our society, as reflected in its media, schools, courts and government, has progressively abandoned the moral teachings of Christianity. We cannot hope for a future election to save America; that train left the station on Election Day 2012.

On March 4, 1789, the Constitution of the United States became the supreme law of our nation. It provided two important blessings: (1) It united the states as a single entity, setting the stage for strength and growth protecting us from tyranny abroad and (2) it stated the rights of the individual and the limitations of government, thus protecting us from tyranny at home.

The Declaration of Independence states that whenever any form of government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the right of the people to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new government.

President James Madison said that the powers delegated by the Constitution to the federal government are few and defined. Those which are to remain in the states’ government are numerous and indefinite.

America’s liberty may be endangered by the abuses of liberty as well as the abuses of power. We can only guess how the battle between the red and blue will end, or how soon America may bring on its own self-destruction, but we do know that God will settle the question between good and evil.

Ondis Brantley, Russiaville

 

        For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Kokomo Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll