Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 23, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: March 23, 2013

Art In Bloom fundraiser blossoms

Rob Hoshaw, head of Acacia Academy, sends this Cheer for those who participated in the Art in Bloom fundraiser:

“Acacia Academy’s signature fundraiser, Art In Bloom, burst forth with energy and fun for all. This successful event raised more than $25,000 for the kindergarten-through-eighth-grade, nondenominational, classical Christian school, celebrating its fourth year of operation. Proceeds will be used to expand student scholarships.  

“Thank you to the major sponsors who allowed the event to blossom: Kathryn Jones of Dental Care LLC, Creative Financial Designs, Community First Bank, First Farmers Bank, John and Patricia O’Donnell, Saber Management, Hearn Dentistry, Button Dodge, Willis and Karen Peelle, Innovative Orthodontics, Christina Lorentson, Stout & Son Funeral Home, and Crume-Evans Insurance. Thank you to Main Street United Methodist Church for the use of its facility. Founding partners for Acacia Academy are St. Vincent Health St. Joseph Hospital and First Evangelical Presbyterian Church.

“Special thanks to Sally Duke, the chairperson of the event, and her many committees. Artwork was designed by Jo Ann Davis, and Rachel Maggard, Jessica Hunter and Rebekah Heffernan decorated tirelessly to convert the gymnasium into a spring garden. Beautiful music was provided by Larry and Jennifer Kirkman of the Kokomo Park Band, Patrick Wilson and Laura Swartzendruber. Shirley Davis and the kitchen staff prepared a delicious meal served by the students. J. Edwards Chocolates, Cakes and Gifts donated wonderful desserts.

“Thank you to auctioneer Bret Rinehart for expertly leading attendees through a live and silent auction. Special thanks to Granny’s Furniture for donating an Acacia-wood rocking chair and to the MSUMC quilting club for donating hours of their skills. Thank you to Stephanie Freemeyer, Bob and Betsy Hoshaw, to each teacher and classroom that made unique items such as a quilt, hand-painted bookshelf, spice rack, scale model ship, chess set and wood-burned kitchen set to contribute to the auction. Thank you to Bill and Sharon Bassett and Pete and Susie Jones for donating fantastic travel packages. Thank you to those businesses and individuals who donated more than 70 silent auction items. Thank you to the students at Acacia Academy who served hors d’oeuvres, food and performed a program at the event.

“Acacia Academy is currently enrolling students for the 2013-2014 school year. The goal of Acacia is to cultivate character, faith and knowledge, and to build a love of life-long learning. For more information on Acacia Academy, please call us at 765-457-4555 and schedule a tour to see firsthand what classical education looks like, or visit our website at www.AcaciaAcademy.org.”

Haynes Ave. is the place to be

Pat Pierson of Kokomo sends this Cheer for a city neighborhood:

“The best place to live in Kokomo is Haynes Avenue. I know because I’ve lived here more than 50 years.

“My neighbors — they know who they are — shovel my sidewalk, driveway and porch every time it snows.”

        For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Kokomo Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll