Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

March 26, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 26, 2013

‘Shame on you, Tipton County!’

Is anyone really surprised that the Zoning Board of Appeals would vote in favor of juwi Wind? As a common practice of Tipton County officials, majority accounts for nothing.

The BZA meeting had a huge turnout, with many more taxpayers opposed to the wind farm than for. But, as usual, it fell on deaf ears.

This outcome should be the final straw to destroy the Tipton County countryside. An old adage comes to mind: “Be careful what you ask for, for you shall surely get it.”

This decision was a sham and a disgrace. Shame on you, Tipton County!

Mary Owsley, Sharpsville

 

Lincoln’s words still resonate with us all

I have a habit of keeping old newspaper articles that I feel are noteworthy. The following is one that I kept some 30 years ago:

“You cannot bring about prosperity by discovering thrift. You cannot strengthen the weak by weakening the strong. You cannot help the wage-earner by pulling down the wage-payer. You cannot further the brotherhood of man by encouraging class hatred. You cannot help the poor by discouraging the rich. You cannot establish sound security by spending more than you earn. You cannot build character and courage by taking away man’s initiative and independence. You cannot help men permanently by doing for them what they could and should do for themselves” — Abraham Lincoln.

These are the words of a wise man, whose character and wisdom, kindness and courage, humility and forbearance will live forever in the minds and hearts of America.

Isn’t it strange that they are as applicable to today’s modern living as they were more than 150 years ago?

Dick Allen, Kokomo

 

Apology for calling cops on sledders

On March 6, I called the Peru Police Department to report sledders on the golf-course part of Maconaquah Park. I did so because I was under the impression there was a new policy or direction to keep sledders from sledding there. I also called to make a point and raise awareness.

I made a selfish, bad decision. I apologize to the sledders and the Peru Police Department for my actions. I personally hope we will be able to sled at that location for another 50 years, but stay safe.

Kent Workman, Peru

 

Dr. Marilyn Wagoner helped with pain

I’ve been in pain more than two years. My highest regards go to Wagoner Medical Clinic, Dr. Marilyn Wagoner, Dr. Tom Huet, Dr. Robert H. Mitchell, Dr. Jeffery Pierson, Indiana Spine Group, Dr. Kevin E. Macadaeg, Dr. Thomas M. Reilly and Dr. Frank Johnson Jr.

Shirley Wallace, Kokomo

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll