Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

March 26, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 26, 2013

‘Shame on you, Tipton County!’

Is anyone really surprised that the Zoning Board of Appeals would vote in favor of juwi Wind? As a common practice of Tipton County officials, majority accounts for nothing.

The BZA meeting had a huge turnout, with many more taxpayers opposed to the wind farm than for. But, as usual, it fell on deaf ears.

This outcome should be the final straw to destroy the Tipton County countryside. An old adage comes to mind: “Be careful what you ask for, for you shall surely get it.”

This decision was a sham and a disgrace. Shame on you, Tipton County!

Mary Owsley, Sharpsville

 

Lincoln’s words still resonate with us all

I have a habit of keeping old newspaper articles that I feel are noteworthy. The following is one that I kept some 30 years ago:

“You cannot bring about prosperity by discovering thrift. You cannot strengthen the weak by weakening the strong. You cannot help the wage-earner by pulling down the wage-payer. You cannot further the brotherhood of man by encouraging class hatred. You cannot help the poor by discouraging the rich. You cannot establish sound security by spending more than you earn. You cannot build character and courage by taking away man’s initiative and independence. You cannot help men permanently by doing for them what they could and should do for themselves” — Abraham Lincoln.

These are the words of a wise man, whose character and wisdom, kindness and courage, humility and forbearance will live forever in the minds and hearts of America.

Isn’t it strange that they are as applicable to today’s modern living as they were more than 150 years ago?

Dick Allen, Kokomo

 

Apology for calling cops on sledders

On March 6, I called the Peru Police Department to report sledders on the golf-course part of Maconaquah Park. I did so because I was under the impression there was a new policy or direction to keep sledders from sledding there. I also called to make a point and raise awareness.

I made a selfish, bad decision. I apologize to the sledders and the Peru Police Department for my actions. I personally hope we will be able to sled at that location for another 50 years, but stay safe.

Kent Workman, Peru

 

Dr. Marilyn Wagoner helped with pain

I’ve been in pain more than two years. My highest regards go to Wagoner Medical Clinic, Dr. Marilyn Wagoner, Dr. Tom Huet, Dr. Robert H. Mitchell, Dr. Jeffery Pierson, Indiana Spine Group, Dr. Kevin E. Macadaeg, Dr. Thomas M. Reilly and Dr. Frank Johnson Jr.

Shirley Wallace, Kokomo

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll