Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 26, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 26, 2013

‘Shame on you, Tipton County!’

Is anyone really surprised that the Zoning Board of Appeals would vote in favor of juwi Wind? As a common practice of Tipton County officials, majority accounts for nothing.

The BZA meeting had a huge turnout, with many more taxpayers opposed to the wind farm than for. But, as usual, it fell on deaf ears.

This outcome should be the final straw to destroy the Tipton County countryside. An old adage comes to mind: “Be careful what you ask for, for you shall surely get it.”

This decision was a sham and a disgrace. Shame on you, Tipton County!

Mary Owsley, Sharpsville

 

Lincoln’s words still resonate with us all

I have a habit of keeping old newspaper articles that I feel are noteworthy. The following is one that I kept some 30 years ago:

“You cannot bring about prosperity by discovering thrift. You cannot strengthen the weak by weakening the strong. You cannot help the wage-earner by pulling down the wage-payer. You cannot further the brotherhood of man by encouraging class hatred. You cannot help the poor by discouraging the rich. You cannot establish sound security by spending more than you earn. You cannot build character and courage by taking away man’s initiative and independence. You cannot help men permanently by doing for them what they could and should do for themselves” — Abraham Lincoln.

These are the words of a wise man, whose character and wisdom, kindness and courage, humility and forbearance will live forever in the minds and hearts of America.

Isn’t it strange that they are as applicable to today’s modern living as they were more than 150 years ago?

Dick Allen, Kokomo

 

Apology for calling cops on sledders

On March 6, I called the Peru Police Department to report sledders on the golf-course part of Maconaquah Park. I did so because I was under the impression there was a new policy or direction to keep sledders from sledding there. I also called to make a point and raise awareness.

I made a selfish, bad decision. I apologize to the sledders and the Peru Police Department for my actions. I personally hope we will be able to sled at that location for another 50 years, but stay safe.

Kent Workman, Peru

 

Dr. Marilyn Wagoner helped with pain

I’ve been in pain more than two years. My highest regards go to Wagoner Medical Clinic, Dr. Marilyn Wagoner, Dr. Tom Huet, Dr. Robert H. Mitchell, Dr. Jeffery Pierson, Indiana Spine Group, Dr. Kevin E. Macadaeg, Dr. Thomas M. Reilly and Dr. Frank Johnson Jr.

Shirley Wallace, Kokomo

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll