Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 26, 2013

Letters to the Editor: March 26, 2013

‘Shame on you, Tipton County!’

Is anyone really surprised that the Zoning Board of Appeals would vote in favor of juwi Wind? As a common practice of Tipton County officials, majority accounts for nothing.

The BZA meeting had a huge turnout, with many more taxpayers opposed to the wind farm than for. But, as usual, it fell on deaf ears.

This outcome should be the final straw to destroy the Tipton County countryside. An old adage comes to mind: “Be careful what you ask for, for you shall surely get it.”

This decision was a sham and a disgrace. Shame on you, Tipton County!

Mary Owsley, Sharpsville

 

Lincoln’s words still resonate with us all

I have a habit of keeping old newspaper articles that I feel are noteworthy. The following is one that I kept some 30 years ago:

“You cannot bring about prosperity by discovering thrift. You cannot strengthen the weak by weakening the strong. You cannot help the wage-earner by pulling down the wage-payer. You cannot further the brotherhood of man by encouraging class hatred. You cannot help the poor by discouraging the rich. You cannot establish sound security by spending more than you earn. You cannot build character and courage by taking away man’s initiative and independence. You cannot help men permanently by doing for them what they could and should do for themselves” — Abraham Lincoln.

These are the words of a wise man, whose character and wisdom, kindness and courage, humility and forbearance will live forever in the minds and hearts of America.

Isn’t it strange that they are as applicable to today’s modern living as they were more than 150 years ago?

Dick Allen, Kokomo

 

Apology for calling cops on sledders

On March 6, I called the Peru Police Department to report sledders on the golf-course part of Maconaquah Park. I did so because I was under the impression there was a new policy or direction to keep sledders from sledding there. I also called to make a point and raise awareness.

I made a selfish, bad decision. I apologize to the sledders and the Peru Police Department for my actions. I personally hope we will be able to sled at that location for another 50 years, but stay safe.

Kent Workman, Peru

 

Dr. Marilyn Wagoner helped with pain

I’ve been in pain more than two years. My highest regards go to Wagoner Medical Clinic, Dr. Marilyn Wagoner, Dr. Tom Huet, Dr. Robert H. Mitchell, Dr. Jeffery Pierson, Indiana Spine Group, Dr. Kevin E. Macadaeg, Dr. Thomas M. Reilly and Dr. Frank Johnson Jr.

Shirley Wallace, Kokomo

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll