Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 29, 2013

Editorial - March 29, 2013: Better safety with bypass

The issue: U.S. 31 travel safety.

Our view: The new U.S. 31 bypass, slated to open in November, might just be the catalyst of a new wave of growth in Howard County, as well as safer roadways.

 

As construction of a new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo speeds toward completion this November, there are likely many area residents who still question the need for the project.

Some Indiana House Democrats might tell you leasing the Indiana Toll Road was a worse one. Not a single one voted for the $3.8 billion lease that was approved six years ago.

The former U.S. 31 Coalition disagreed with those Democrats. The group of residents and officers from nine cities, six counties and more than 20 companies along the U.S. 31 corridor said upgrading the current highway to a freeway would add jobs, improve safety and enhance drive times.

Without any improvements, it said speed along the length of the route would drop to an average of 36.1 mph. At that rate, traffic safety would suffer.

It was that issue — safety — that first caught the attention of the Indiana Department of Transportation. An INDOT study at the time found the fatal crash rate in Howard County along U.S. 31 was more than twice the state average between U.S. 35 and Tipton County Road 600 North. There was at least one fatal crash along that portion of U.S. 31 each year during the six-year study period.

The highway’s intersection at Markland Avenue, Lincoln Road and Boulevard annually make Kokomo’s most-dangerous-intersections list. And, as we reported Thursday, they were Nos. 1, 2 and 3 in traffic accidents from 2010 to 2012.

In fact, nine of the 11 most dangerous intersections in the city are located on U.S. 31, statistics show.

What does the future hold for the U.S. 31 corridor? According to the coalition and INDOT:

• Expansion and attraction of businesses, and changes in tourist activity, will produce an economic benefit of $1.3 billion over 30 years.

• Generation of $5.3 billion in savings from reduced travel times.

• Creation of 5,010 jobs.

• And most importantly, prevention of 2,600 accidents and 12 fatalities each year.

Traffic accidents in Kokomo fell 4 percent from 2011 to 2012, and 3.4 percent over the last five years, we reported Thursday. City traffic manager Dan Chaplin sees that trend only accelerating in the coming years.

“Preliminary studies show an 8 to 14 percent reduction on U.S. 31 traffic” with the opening of the new bypass, Chaplin said.

And with a reduction in through-traffic, Kokomo hopefully will realize a corresponding drop in accidents and fatalities at the city’s intersections with U.S. 31.

A new Kokomo bypass and the toll road lease were good ideas. They might just be the catalysts of a new wave of growth in Howard County, as well as safer roadways.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll