Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 29, 2013

Editorial - March 29, 2013: Better safety with bypass

The issue: U.S. 31 travel safety.

Our view: The new U.S. 31 bypass, slated to open in November, might just be the catalyst of a new wave of growth in Howard County, as well as safer roadways.

 

As construction of a new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo speeds toward completion this November, there are likely many area residents who still question the need for the project.

Some Indiana House Democrats might tell you leasing the Indiana Toll Road was a worse one. Not a single one voted for the $3.8 billion lease that was approved six years ago.

The former U.S. 31 Coalition disagreed with those Democrats. The group of residents and officers from nine cities, six counties and more than 20 companies along the U.S. 31 corridor said upgrading the current highway to a freeway would add jobs, improve safety and enhance drive times.

Without any improvements, it said speed along the length of the route would drop to an average of 36.1 mph. At that rate, traffic safety would suffer.

It was that issue — safety — that first caught the attention of the Indiana Department of Transportation. An INDOT study at the time found the fatal crash rate in Howard County along U.S. 31 was more than twice the state average between U.S. 35 and Tipton County Road 600 North. There was at least one fatal crash along that portion of U.S. 31 each year during the six-year study period.

The highway’s intersection at Markland Avenue, Lincoln Road and Boulevard annually make Kokomo’s most-dangerous-intersections list. And, as we reported Thursday, they were Nos. 1, 2 and 3 in traffic accidents from 2010 to 2012.

In fact, nine of the 11 most dangerous intersections in the city are located on U.S. 31, statistics show.

What does the future hold for the U.S. 31 corridor? According to the coalition and INDOT:

• Expansion and attraction of businesses, and changes in tourist activity, will produce an economic benefit of $1.3 billion over 30 years.

• Generation of $5.3 billion in savings from reduced travel times.

• Creation of 5,010 jobs.

• And most importantly, prevention of 2,600 accidents and 12 fatalities each year.

Traffic accidents in Kokomo fell 4 percent from 2011 to 2012, and 3.4 percent over the last five years, we reported Thursday. City traffic manager Dan Chaplin sees that trend only accelerating in the coming years.

“Preliminary studies show an 8 to 14 percent reduction on U.S. 31 traffic” with the opening of the new bypass, Chaplin said.

And with a reduction in through-traffic, Kokomo hopefully will realize a corresponding drop in accidents and fatalities at the city’s intersections with U.S. 31.

A new Kokomo bypass and the toll road lease were good ideas. They might just be the catalysts of a new wave of growth in Howard County, as well as safer roadways.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll