Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 16, 2013

Cheers & Jeers - Saturday, Feb. 16, 2013

Christian nonprofit frees sexual slaves

Steve Matthews, formerly of Greentown and who now lives in Warsaw, sends this Cheer for an organization he wants area churches to support:

“Recently, I became a volunteer for a Christian nonprofit organization, Destiny Rescue. Destiny Rescue has a 10-year goal of freeing 100,000 children from sexual slavery.

“There are an estimated 26 million slaves in the world today. Some 1.6 million children are sold as sexual slaves, with the most horrific kinds of evils performed on them for great profit. This is one child per every 6 seconds becoming a sexual slave for life.

“Destiny Rescue, a biblically based Christian nonprofit group, is rising up against this great evil and already has freed hundreds of children from their evil profiteers. Destiny Rescue not only rescues the children but also provides care for their lives, provides them with Christianity and life-skills training.

“Destiny Rescue needs the church of Jesus Christ to come to life in team support of this effort. We are the protectors of those who are innocent and cannot protect themselves. Our U.S.-based office is in Syracuse. Please consider engaging one of our staff to come to your church, business or other group to explain how you can join our rescue team.

“If you are interested, please email me at Phonehero@hotmail.com.”

‘Pennies from Russell’

Neva Williams of Kokomo sends this Cheer for her late brother, Russell Day:

“I want to tell everyone about my brother, who passed away on Dec. 29, 2012.

“Russell L. Day was one of the best brothers anyone could ever ask for. He was a very thoughtful brother and friend.

“He loved his ballgames, and went to almost every one of the Kokomo High School games. He had lots of friends there.

“He also went to Northside Little League. He mowed the yard there and cleaned up trash, emptied the containers and also mopped and cleaned the restrooms when nobody else would. He had been going there ever since his son, Mike, was playing ball there.

“He loved the kids there and wanted to make everything nice for them. Russell will be remembered by lots of us.

“For Christmas every year, he would give presents or money to his children, Mike and Kelly, and son-in-law, Chris. Also, he made sure that his picture was taken with his grandkids, Courtney, Katie, John and Brook at Christmastime — with all of them wearing Santa hats. He wanted to pass them out to his family because he was so proud of them. He also made sure he had money to give to his siblings and their spouses: Ray and Ramona, Neva and Dave, Wanda and Frank, and John and Pat.

“Also, every year he would make lots and lots of party mix to give us. He also gave buckets of party mix to all his friends and other family members. He even made it for his nurses and took it to the ballgames for his friends there.

“Russell fought his battle with cancer clear up to the day he died. He took lots of treatments and never lost his hair until the last couple of months.

“He also mowed my yard after my husband died. I have pictures of him mowing my yard, even though he was sickly.

“Russell gave his heart to the Lord and got baptized on May 6, 2012.

“They say loved ones come back to visit us after they pass away, and now I believe it is true. I was clearing out some branches in my yard and was fixing to go back inside when I found this window clinger of the Kokomo Wildkats on my yard. Russell was an avid fan and left it there to tell me he is glad I’m cleaning up the mess in my yard.

“Russell always liked his yard clean, his TV screen dust-free and his car washed. So I know he was telling me that he likes that I picked up in my yard.

“Also, I was coming back from my mailbox a week or two later, and I felt something drop from my shoulder and land on the snow in front of me. It was a bright red flower on the white snowy ground. A friend of mine named Dusty told me it was a sign from my brother that he was OK, and the angels on my shoulder sent it to me.

“My sister, Wanda, was looking for pennies from Russell but never saw any. But the same time that I got the red flower, she was shopping for a new purse and the purses kept falling off the shelves — big ones, not the small ones that she was looking at. She wondered if it could be ‘Rut.’ That’s what family called him. So she knows also that he is OK.

“Brother Ray was always with Rut at the ballgames. He was not just a brother to Rut but also his buddy. Ray hasn’t been well, but I hope and pray he gets better soon.

“I know there are a lot of people who love and miss Russell. Hopefully he is with Mom and Dad now.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll