Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 17, 2013

Schools need kids’ parents

THE ISSUE: Parent involvement in schools.

OUR VIEW: Children whose parents are active in their education score higher on standardized tests or earn better grades that their peers. ISTEP exams begin in two weeks; your children and their teachers need your help.

The essay and short-answer portions of the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress — better known as ISTEP — will take place March 3 through March 12. Multiple-choice exams will be administered April 28 through May 7.

Ensure your children eat breakfast before heading off to school; make sure they get plenty of rest each week — and particularly these next couple of weeks as they prepare for the exams. Why? Parental involvement is a powerful indicator of a student’s academic performance.

At least 15 studies dating back as far as 1980 suggest that children of parents who volunteer at school, check homework and talk to teachers score higher on standardized tests or earn better grades than their peers.

Over the last three decades, education has become a key political issue on the national scene. Taxpayers, as well as the Indiana Legislature, are demanding public schools spend tax money more efficiently. Parents are demanding schools better prepare their children for college or the workplace.

And the federal government has the same set of demands. Since Jimmy Carter established the U.S. Department of Education, schools have been a constant presidential campaign theme.

In short, local school corporations will continue to be required to meet ever-increasing state and national education standards. Indiana, for example, designed the ISTEP-Plus standards and exams to make students more accountable for their education, and teachers and school systems more accountable for providing that education.

Expectations for student achievement will not be lowered; they only will increase. And the best way to meet those expectations is for parents to get involved in their children’s education.

Ask your children whether they have homework and ensure they complete it. Attend parent-teacher conferences. Volunteer at school. You can chaperon a field trip or dance, and assist school employees running extracurricular activities.

Your children and their teachers need your help.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll