Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 21, 2013

Two lives well-lived

THE ISSUE: The extraordinary life and death of Earle Howard.

OUR VIEW: He gave his life to public service and his heart to Lou Nell, his wife.

Many older residents of Howard County knew Earle Howard, who died Friday morning — 10 minutes after his wife, Lou Nell, had passed away.

Born and raised in Kokomo, Earle Howard fought in World War II after graduating from Kokomo High School and earned two Bronze Stars.

He married the former Lou Nell Davis in 1949 and joined the Kokomo Police Department in 1950. He started out as a patrolman and retired in 1973 as police chief.

He then joined the Howard County Sheriff Department as chief deputy to Sheriff Bob Sargent, and served two terms himself as the county’s top cop.

But his career in public service wasn’t complete. He served as a state representative in the Indiana General Assembly from 1986 to 1994.

Earle Howard was a man of great achievement. But that wasn’t who he was.

He was Lou Nell’s husband and father of their only child, Julie.

“Often, a man like Earle is thought to be so driven by his profession that he ignores his family,” Howard County Sheriff Steve Rogers told family and friends during the Howards’ funeral at First Church of the Nazarene Tuesday.

“But Earle showed us we should be public servants because of our families — because of your family. He did what he did because of his family.”

The Howards’ health began to fail within the last year. Earle suffered from a heart condition, and Lou Nell had been diagnosed with dementia, their pastor, David Leeder, said at Tuesday’s funeral service.

Leeder said he visited the couple at their North Woods Village apartment last Wednesday. Earle told him he was ready to die.

“He said, ‘I don’t know how she’ll manage, and I don’t want to leave her. I don’t know what to do,’” Leeder told the crowd at the church.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Treasure the life you have I was asked by a reader what my thought on what life is for me in my late years. So here I go with some of my thoughts, but don’t think I am just making them up as I go. Life to me is the time between the day I was born and the day that I am called h

    August 23, 2014

  • Cheers and Jeers Taste of Kokomo accommodationSusie and Andy Castner send this Cheer:“A cheer to Randy Morris, City of Kokomo Park Supt. for accommodating our family for the David Cook concert at Taste of Kokomo. It made it so much easier for our mom to get to seatin

    August 23, 2014

  • State challengesfederal government Recently, some have questioned why the State of Indiana has brought lawsuits against our federal government. While this litigation is adversarial by nature, it is a necessary part of our constitutional process. What distinguishes the U.S. Constitutio

    August 23, 2014

  • Aug. 23: Letters to the Editor Paying for lack of leadershipThe salaries of the Board of County Commissioners and the complete funding of the Local Economic Development Organization, is from taxes paid by the residents of Tipton County. The actions of these two entities are unacce

    August 23, 2014

  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll