Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 21, 2013

Two lives well-lived

THE ISSUE: The extraordinary life and death of Earle Howard.

OUR VIEW: He gave his life to public service and his heart to Lou Nell, his wife.

Many older residents of Howard County knew Earle Howard, who died Friday morning — 10 minutes after his wife, Lou Nell, had passed away.

Born and raised in Kokomo, Earle Howard fought in World War II after graduating from Kokomo High School and earned two Bronze Stars.

He married the former Lou Nell Davis in 1949 and joined the Kokomo Police Department in 1950. He started out as a patrolman and retired in 1973 as police chief.

He then joined the Howard County Sheriff Department as chief deputy to Sheriff Bob Sargent, and served two terms himself as the county’s top cop.

But his career in public service wasn’t complete. He served as a state representative in the Indiana General Assembly from 1986 to 1994.

Earle Howard was a man of great achievement. But that wasn’t who he was.

He was Lou Nell’s husband and father of their only child, Julie.

“Often, a man like Earle is thought to be so driven by his profession that he ignores his family,” Howard County Sheriff Steve Rogers told family and friends during the Howards’ funeral at First Church of the Nazarene Tuesday.

“But Earle showed us we should be public servants because of our families — because of your family. He did what he did because of his family.”

The Howards’ health began to fail within the last year. Earle suffered from a heart condition, and Lou Nell had been diagnosed with dementia, their pastor, David Leeder, said at Tuesday’s funeral service.

Leeder said he visited the couple at their North Woods Village apartment last Wednesday. Earle told him he was ready to die.

“He said, ‘I don’t know how she’ll manage, and I don’t want to leave her. I don’t know what to do,’” Leeder told the crowd at the church.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll