Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 28, 2014

MARK HEINIG: Guns in the school parking lot: a right or risk?

If Pence signs bill, schools could employ stricter security

By MARK HEINIG

LOCAL COLUMNIST

Should licensed gun owners be allowed to take their weapons on to school parking lots if they keep them out of sight in a car’s locked glove box? The General Assembly said yes, despite the objections of school personnel and many other folks. Senate Bill 229 is now on Gov. Pence’s desk awaiting his signature or his veto. It won’t be an easy choice. He is bound to encounter opposition either way.

Whatever he decides probably won’t permanently resolve the issue. As an educator, I oppose allowing guns on school property in any way, at any time, by anyone who doesn’t have a badge as well as a gun. I realize the National Rifle Association supports this bill and could continue working for it if it fails now. I agree the NRA has a legitimate interest in protecting our right to bear arms. However, I don’t think we should cherish that right more than the safety of our children.

SB 229 is supposed to protect me from a felony charge if I forget I have a gun in my car on school property. How could I ever forget something like that? I have yet to meet a gun owner who has misplaced the weapon and can’t find it. It’s not like losing your car keys. If you own a gun, you know where it is! If you don’t, you have no business owning it in the first place.

SB 229 can endanger our kids, teachers and parents. There is no foolproof way to conceal a gun in an automobile glove box. Somebody besides the gun owner inevitably finds out about it. I love working with teenagers, but they don’t always use good judgment.

Unless you work for Brinks or Garda, you probably don’t drive an armored car. How difficult would it be for a thrill-seeking adolescent to break into your vehicle, force your glove box open and take your gun? If that happens, you lose control of the weapon. The young thief may use it to shoot you, a teacher, a parent or — God forbid — another teenager. I have had to attend far too many teenage funerals during my career. I don’t need any more of them!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll