Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 3, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 3, 2013

The true non-violent social reformer

A recent opinion page article concerned the private lives of ‘social reformers’ not equalling the movement they championed. Martin Luther King Jr. and Mahatma Gandhi were cited, as was Harvey Milk, a gay supervisor in San Francisco. Their personal lives, it was stated, paled under the bright light of scrutiny.

And not only them, almost anyone else would wither under such intense light. President Kennedy was known as a philanderer; evangelist Jim Bakker had his moments; and Gary Cooper — he was a fine actor, but there was that thing about him being already married when he had a fling with actress Patricia Neal. She became pregnant and Cooper had her get an abortion, thinking a baby would ruin his career. The light of scrutiny reveals his greatest role, that little life he was responsible for beginning — and ending.

Another story in the same Tribune was about theaters converting 35mm film projection to a digital format. A theater in Paris, Ill. was mentioned — the home of actor Carl Switzer, known to us as Alfalfa of the “Little Rascals’”short films of the 1930s and ’40s. He did a nice job as Alfalfa, but not so much as Carl Switzer. He became a drinker, jobs were scarce, and the bright light of scrutiny reveals he was shot to death in 1959, in a squabble over $50.

The opinion article stated “like Martin Luther King Jr., Mahatma Gandhi, and every other non-violent revolutionary in history, Milk is celebrated because of the social movement he represented, not his personal life.” Not quite true.

There is one non-violent social reformer in history who is celebrated both for the social movement he represented, and for his personal life. That person is Jesus Christ. He was divine, yes, but he was also a man who had to face and overcome the same kinds of things we do in life. And every time he had to make a choice he made the right one, because he always pleased God in everything he did.

Everyone else will eventually fail you, but Jesus never will, so look deep into his life — the deeper the better—shine the bright light of scrutiny on him, you will not find yourself disappointed. You are drawn to his social movement, and when you look beyond it at him, you will see a man who measures up.

 Jesus’ life is a celebration — of him, and for us.

Jeff Hatton, Greentown

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll