Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 7, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 7, 2013

Red flags raised at commission hearing

I would like to bring to light some of the things I witnessed at the Tipton County Plan Commission hearing on Oct. 16.

Member Carroll Cohee made a motion very quickly after the public hearing portion of the meeting ended. This motion was in support of a document that was presented at the beginning of the public hearing by two wind proponents who were sitting in the front row.

At the end of the meeting, Mr. Cohee made a comment that “he didn’t care what the people of the Tipton County thought.” I will let Mr. Cohee’s comment speak for itself.

More importantly, I saw our most recent appointed member, Jeff Wessel completely unprepared for the meeting. However, it soon became exceedingly apparent as the meeting progressed as to why he need not be prepared.

It was easily observed that Mr. Wessel was taking direction from the same two wind proponents as Mr. Cohee on how he was to vote on each motion that was raised. One of those proponents is on the board that hired Mr. Wessel. Might that be a conflict of interest?

The fact that Mr. Wessel has only been in Tipton about a month, but has already formed an opinion on wind as well as Mr. Cohee’s motion, should at least merit some review.

Lastly, as people from the Wildcat Wind Farm spoke of the problems they were having, I watched Andy Melka and the woman from the CAC laugh and joke during their testimony. They both should be ashamed of themselves and their behavior. Is this the kind of company we want doing business in our county? Do we really believe their behavior will change if more wind turbines go up in Tipton County?

I know most, if not everyone who attended the meeting that night walked away confused at the motions, as well as how the votes took place.

We were unable to hear or see the plan commission members. The members should be seated on the stage as it has been with other meetings before in that building. I think most Windfall residents came away feeling that they just got thrown under the bus again and that more wind turbines are coming their way.

Those on the Plan Commission who voted for the complete ban of turbines are thus far the only ones clearly listening to the majority. The rest of the members need to be asked why they do not think an outright ban of these turbines is a good idea. Many of our neighboring counties have done so to protect the health and rights of their citizens. Tipton County should also.

Sarah Allison, Tipton

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • OPN - KT082014 - king What Fergusonsays about us Aug. 9 is a day that Americans lost sight of themselves. It is the day Michael Brown, an 18-year-old black teenager of Ferguson, Mo., a suburb of St. Louis, was shot and killed by a white police officer, Darren Wilson. That evening, and for all but o

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the editor Congrats on wind farm defeat Congratulations to the citizens of Kokomo and Howard County! Your officials have done you a great favor by stopping any further considerations for construction of industrial wind turbines in your area. Now, if the fede

    August 20, 2014

  • Cleaning up voter rolls Citizens should expect the voting process for electing government representatives at all levels to be efficient and of the highest integrity. Indiana's system in recent years has at times been manipulated for political purposes -- the voter ID system

    August 20, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: First Amendment assault in Ferguson

    Of all the outrageous and disturbing story lines emanating from Ferguson, Missouri, since unarmed African-American teenager Michael Brown was shot by Ferguson police officer Darren Wilson on Aug. 9, the targeting of journalists during the ensuing protests ranks among the most troubling.

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Moped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mopeds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana. A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 19, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Craft brewers and vintners returned sprits to Indiana State Fair Brad Hawkins felt right at home hawking his beer at the Indiana State Fairgrounds last week.When Hawkins opened his Salt Creek Brewery in a converted filling station in tiny Needmore three years ago, some tee-totaling neighbors protested he was putti

    August 19, 2014

  • LETTERS: Support Connie Brown; wind agreement termination Connie Brown for county clerkConnie Brown is an excellent person to serve as county clerk. She is kind, generous, and dedicated to what she does. Having served with her on the Stonybrook Board for six years, I have come to know her and respect her ta

    August 19, 2014

  • Indiana budget woes put new focus on 'reversions' When is a budget cut not a cut? In Indiana, it’s when it’s a reversion.Budget cuts, via reversions, were at the center of a pair of big decisions last week, putting the tactic used by both Democratic and Republican governors in the spotlight.State Bu

    August 19, 2014

  • How to care for our children and their children INDIANAPOLIS – Let’s ponder “our children” and “their children.”First, Gov. Mike Pence made a wise call this past week when he ordered the Department of Child Services to begin reimbursing families who had adopted special needs children.A class actio

    August 18, 2014

  • Aug. 18: Letters to the Editor Sick of allthe wind talkI am going to rant a bit. I am sick and tired of opening up the paper and there is another letter about windmills. We have so much going on in the world. We have children getting beheaded, presidents always on vacation, an eco

    August 18, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama: World Is Appalled by Murder of Journalist Israel, Militants Trade Fire After Talks Fail Pres. George W. Bush Takes Ice Bucket Challenge Pierce Brosnan's Call to Join the Expendables Changes Coming to No-Fly List Raw: IDF Footage Said to Show Airstrikes Police: Ferguson More Peaceful Raw: Aftermath of Airstrike in Gaza Raw: Thousands March on Pakistani Parliament Raw: World's Oldest Man Lives in Japan Fire Crews Tame Yosemite Fire Raw: Police Weapon Drawn Near Protesters, Media Raw: Explosions in Gaza As Airstrikes Resume Charter Schools Alter Post-Katrina Landscape Texas Gov. Perry: Indictment 'a Political Act' US Officials: Video Shows American's Beheading Video Shows Ferguson Cop Months Before Shooting Water Bottles Recalled for Safety Researcher Testing On-Field Concussion Scanners
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll