Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 7, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 7, 2013

Red flags raised at commission hearing

I would like to bring to light some of the things I witnessed at the Tipton County Plan Commission hearing on Oct. 16.

Member Carroll Cohee made a motion very quickly after the public hearing portion of the meeting ended. This motion was in support of a document that was presented at the beginning of the public hearing by two wind proponents who were sitting in the front row.

At the end of the meeting, Mr. Cohee made a comment that “he didn’t care what the people of the Tipton County thought.” I will let Mr. Cohee’s comment speak for itself.

More importantly, I saw our most recent appointed member, Jeff Wessel completely unprepared for the meeting. However, it soon became exceedingly apparent as the meeting progressed as to why he need not be prepared.

It was easily observed that Mr. Wessel was taking direction from the same two wind proponents as Mr. Cohee on how he was to vote on each motion that was raised. One of those proponents is on the board that hired Mr. Wessel. Might that be a conflict of interest?

The fact that Mr. Wessel has only been in Tipton about a month, but has already formed an opinion on wind as well as Mr. Cohee’s motion, should at least merit some review.

Lastly, as people from the Wildcat Wind Farm spoke of the problems they were having, I watched Andy Melka and the woman from the CAC laugh and joke during their testimony. They both should be ashamed of themselves and their behavior. Is this the kind of company we want doing business in our county? Do we really believe their behavior will change if more wind turbines go up in Tipton County?

I know most, if not everyone who attended the meeting that night walked away confused at the motions, as well as how the votes took place.

We were unable to hear or see the plan commission members. The members should be seated on the stage as it has been with other meetings before in that building. I think most Windfall residents came away feeling that they just got thrown under the bus again and that more wind turbines are coming their way.

Those on the Plan Commission who voted for the complete ban of turbines are thus far the only ones clearly listening to the majority. The rest of the members need to be asked why they do not think an outright ban of these turbines is a good idea. Many of our neighboring counties have done so to protect the health and rights of their citizens. Tipton County should also.

Sarah Allison, Tipton

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

  • Keep eye out for kids

    With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Let's hope 7th Circuit sides with couples Let’s hope 7th Circuit sides with couplesIf you blinked over the past month, you probably missed some news about marriage equality in Indiana.First, a federal court ruled that the state’s ban on marriage for same-sex couples was unconstitutional, whi

    July 23, 2014

  • CECIL BOHANON: Spend down surplus? Been there, done that Back in 1998, the state of Indiana had more than $1.3 billion in surplus funds in its general account. This was about 57 days of state spending. The state had total surplus funds of more than $2 billion that was over 24 percent of its annual operatin

    July 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush? Clinton? Next, please

    Here comes a sentence I don’t usually find myself typing: I agree with Barbara Bush on something. Jan. 20, C-SPAN aired her installment in the series “First Ladies: Influence and Image,” which was filmed at Bush’s Houston home. “Do you think there is room for another Bush in The White House?” asked host Peter Slen. “This is a great American country, a great country, and if we can’t find more than two or three families to run for high office, that’s silly, because there are great governors and great eligible people to run,” said Bush. “I think Kennedys, Clintons, Bushes; there are just more families than that.”

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Gen. Odierno Discusses Ukraine, NATO at Forum Gaza Fighting Rages Amid Cease-Fire Efforts Mint Gives JFK Coin a Face-lift Creative Makeovers for Ugly Cellphone Towers Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll