Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 7, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 7, 2013

Red flags raised at commission hearing

I would like to bring to light some of the things I witnessed at the Tipton County Plan Commission hearing on Oct. 16.

Member Carroll Cohee made a motion very quickly after the public hearing portion of the meeting ended. This motion was in support of a document that was presented at the beginning of the public hearing by two wind proponents who were sitting in the front row.

At the end of the meeting, Mr. Cohee made a comment that “he didn’t care what the people of the Tipton County thought.” I will let Mr. Cohee’s comment speak for itself.

More importantly, I saw our most recent appointed member, Jeff Wessel completely unprepared for the meeting. However, it soon became exceedingly apparent as the meeting progressed as to why he need not be prepared.

It was easily observed that Mr. Wessel was taking direction from the same two wind proponents as Mr. Cohee on how he was to vote on each motion that was raised. One of those proponents is on the board that hired Mr. Wessel. Might that be a conflict of interest?

The fact that Mr. Wessel has only been in Tipton about a month, but has already formed an opinion on wind as well as Mr. Cohee’s motion, should at least merit some review.

Lastly, as people from the Wildcat Wind Farm spoke of the problems they were having, I watched Andy Melka and the woman from the CAC laugh and joke during their testimony. They both should be ashamed of themselves and their behavior. Is this the kind of company we want doing business in our county? Do we really believe their behavior will change if more wind turbines go up in Tipton County?

I know most, if not everyone who attended the meeting that night walked away confused at the motions, as well as how the votes took place.

We were unable to hear or see the plan commission members. The members should be seated on the stage as it has been with other meetings before in that building. I think most Windfall residents came away feeling that they just got thrown under the bus again and that more wind turbines are coming their way.

Those on the Plan Commission who voted for the complete ban of turbines are thus far the only ones clearly listening to the majority. The rest of the members need to be asked why they do not think an outright ban of these turbines is a good idea. Many of our neighboring counties have done so to protect the health and rights of their citizens. Tipton County should also.

Sarah Allison, Tipton

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll