Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 24, 2013

Aug. 24, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

'A leader above all others'

Robert Parks of Kokomo sends this Cheer for Sagamore winner John Martino:

"On July 27, former Kokomo Parks Superintendent John Martino received the most prestigious award given by the governor. On behalf of Gov. Mike Pence, state Rep. Mike Karickhoff presented Mr. Martino the Sagamore of the Wabash.

"Mr. Webster describes a sagamore as a chief or leader. John Martino certainly has been a leader above all others.

"For the past 30 years, John has been touching lives and teaching thousands of children about life in general and fishing in particular through the Moose Carden Kids' Fishing Clinic.

"It has been said that a man stands his tallest when he stoops to help a child. Mr. Martino is a giant among men and exemplifies that statement, for he is certainly the heart and soul of this program.

"Being the humble man he is, John is quick to pass on the credit of the kids' fishing clinic's success to the boat captains and the instructors, as well as the behind-the-scenes volunteers, and we tip our hats to them as well and say, thank you.

"Mr. Martino has raised the quality of life in the City of Firsts. He has helped make it a better place to live and raise a family. As parks superintendent, he made many vast improvements.

"After 30-plus years, John left the city administration for greener pastures as director of facilities for Ivy Tech Kokomo. We wish him the best and thank him for his indelible mark he left on our city.

"With sincere gratitude, we say, thank you, John.

"You are the most deserving of this award, and to quote the late, great Bob Hope, 'Thanks for the memories.'"

Good manners abound at Carver

Debby McCombs of Kokomo sends this Cheer for the fine young people at the Carver Community Center:

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll