Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 27, 2013

Aug. 27, 2013: Letters to the editor

Listen to majority, not wind companies

At the Planning Commission meeting Aug. 15, Mr. Carroll Cohee stated he didn’t agree with the 1,500-foot setback from every property line for wind turbine placement because juwi couldn’t build any if we held them to 1,500 feet. This was Mr. Cohee’s original motion in March.

Was his motion done without thought? When many lives and property values were at stake, maybe he should have taken more time to think about what he wanted to say!

Juwi, on Aug. 16, said it would accept the 1,500-foot setback, if we would drop the property value guarantee — another attempt at getting the BZA to change its motion.

Mr. Cohee also said we needed the wind companies for financial support in Tipton County. Doesn’t Mr. Cohee (as a former Chrysler employee) feel that Chrysler opening the Tipton plant in 2015 will draw enough tax income into Tipton County?

Without wind turbines, it’s possible the county will have people moving here and further create a larger tax base.

Mr. Cohee should start listening to the majority instead of the wind turbine company propaganda!

Jim Leffler

Tipton

County spending‘tough nut to crack’

I would like to take the opportunity to thank a few citizens of the county for speaking out at the Tipton County Council meeting on Tuesday night.

First, Nancy Carney, who has shown true diligence in her effort to try to follow the spending of taxpayers’ money. I will be the first one to tell you I understand this has been one tough nut to crack, as it became very apparent some don’t like to explain expenditures or decisions they make and have made it a challenge for the information to be obtained.

With that being said, I would like to thank our former commissioner, Jane Harper, for her coming and giving history on decisions that were made for some spending and why. What a great resource. She also was very informative and helpful a couple of times, as questions arose on how to handle some money movement.

Thanks to the council for listening and its concerns for the financial well-being of our community. We understand it is a tough decision when we say no, but it is time to understand budgets. We all have them and learn to live with them.

Mike Baden

Sharpsville

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll