Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

September 4, 2013

House of Burgess: Peace prize for war president

With Syria, Obama's Nobel scrutinized

President Barack Obama’s decision to ask for congressional approval to strike Syria last week raised a fair amount of throat-clearing from those who pointed to his 2009 Nobel Peace Prize.

“President Obama, Nobel Peace Prize Winner, Back on War Footing,” read the headline of an ABC News blog post by Abby D. Phillips Friday. “Barack Obama ‘does not deserve’ his Nobel peace prize say angry Syrian refugees in Zaatari camp,” read a headline from The Telegraph Monday.

Obama was originally lauded by the Nobel committee “for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples … [who] created a new climate in international politics.”

When Obama was awarded the prize in the first year of his presidency, he admitted to befuddlement. “I would be remiss if I did not acknowledge the considerable controversy that your generous decision has generated,” he said in his acceptance speech. “In part, this is because I am at the beginning, and not the end, of my labors on the world stage.”

Four years later, it’s becoming increasingly difficult to make a case Obama has lived up to this honor. It’s starting to remind me of when Milli Vanilli was awarded, and later returned, the Grammy for Best New Artist in 1990. Or when Jethro Tull’s “Crest of a Knave” beat Metallica’s “…And Justice For All” for the Grammy for Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance Vocal or Instrument in 1989. Or when “Forrest Gump” beat “Pulp Fiction” and “The Shawshank Redemption” for the Best Picture Oscar in 1995.

Likewise for the Nobel, there seems to be an endless string of controversial recipients of the Norwegian committee’s prizes. Their official website has an entire page dedicated to these dust-ups.

“The Nobel Peace Prize has frequently caused controversy,” wrote editor Øyvind Tønnesson. And, of course, there’s the irony of the inventor of dynamite, Alfred Nobel, using his posthumous estate to found the Nobel Prizes, one of which is for peace. “Prizes [will be awarded] to those who, during the preceding year, shall have conferred the greatest benefit to mankind,” Nobel wrote in his final will, signed Nov. 27, 1895. He stipulated the winner of the peace prize “shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll