Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 4, 2013

House of Burgess: Peace prize for war president

With Syria, Obama's Nobel scrutinized

President Barack Obama’s decision to ask for congressional approval to strike Syria last week raised a fair amount of throat-clearing from those who pointed to his 2009 Nobel Peace Prize.

“President Obama, Nobel Peace Prize Winner, Back on War Footing,” read the headline of an ABC News blog post by Abby D. Phillips Friday. “Barack Obama ‘does not deserve’ his Nobel peace prize say angry Syrian refugees in Zaatari camp,” read a headline from The Telegraph Monday.

Obama was originally lauded by the Nobel committee “for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples … [who] created a new climate in international politics.”

When Obama was awarded the prize in the first year of his presidency, he admitted to befuddlement. “I would be remiss if I did not acknowledge the considerable controversy that your generous decision has generated,” he said in his acceptance speech. “In part, this is because I am at the beginning, and not the end, of my labors on the world stage.”

Four years later, it’s becoming increasingly difficult to make a case Obama has lived up to this honor. It’s starting to remind me of when Milli Vanilli was awarded, and later returned, the Grammy for Best New Artist in 1990. Or when Jethro Tull’s “Crest of a Knave” beat Metallica’s “…And Justice For All” for the Grammy for Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance Vocal or Instrument in 1989. Or when “Forrest Gump” beat “Pulp Fiction” and “The Shawshank Redemption” for the Best Picture Oscar in 1995.

Likewise for the Nobel, there seems to be an endless string of controversial recipients of the Norwegian committee’s prizes. Their official website has an entire page dedicated to these dust-ups.

“The Nobel Peace Prize has frequently caused controversy,” wrote editor Øyvind Tønnesson. And, of course, there’s the irony of the inventor of dynamite, Alfred Nobel, using his posthumous estate to found the Nobel Prizes, one of which is for peace. “Prizes [will be awarded] to those who, during the preceding year, shall have conferred the greatest benefit to mankind,” Nobel wrote in his final will, signed Nov. 27, 1895. He stipulated the winner of the peace prize “shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll