Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

September 6, 2013

Sept. 6, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

Some people who may not be following this story closely may not know that juwi initially missed the 30-day deadline to appeal the March BZA decision. Then in May it provided a two-sided copy of something it called a property value protection plan (PVPP). It was in no way adequate to protect the amount of loss expected to be sustained by homeowners if the turbines go up. Then in July, after the BZA told juwi it was not going to modify the 1,500-foot setback from property lines, juwi sent a letter to Steve Edson that it would accept the 1,500-foot setback but was not going to provide the PVPP as required by the BZA in March. Mr. Edson responded back that the BZA would not hear a modification request on the PVPP either. All these maneuvers were designed to move towards filing a lawsuit against the BZA and county that juwi wasn’t given its “right to due process,” really? What the heck was the nine-hour meeting in March all about? What about our rights as non-participating homeowners. If this was such a great and wonderful thing for the county, why weren’t the leaseholders telling all their neighbors?

So now that the leaseholders are filing suit, and juwi stating its intention to do so, we can look at more county money being spent. Isn’t it ironic that the very company that wants to do business in our county is also willing to sue us too? If this is how it treats Tipton County now, how do you think it treats us once it gets its foot in the door? Make no mistake, it is a large company that could care less about the county and its citizens, it’s all about money.

This publicity is exactly what the wind companies wanted to avoid when they came in quickly and quietly to get leases signed and no one said a word. They and others like them (you can’t begin to imagine how many more wind companies there are) understand that their business is controversial at best and damaging to the very communities they move into. They have done this a thousand times, and Big Wind knows from experience that people will stand and fight for their home value, health and safety.

Juwi, please, just take your ball and go home.

Theresa Vaughn

Tipton

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll