Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 9, 2013

BRIAN HOWEY: Health care amidst the amber waves of grain

State leaders have some soul-searching to do.

Gov. Mike Pence achieved a bureaucratic goal early last week when the Obama adminis-tration signed off on a one-year extension of a federal waiver for the Healthy Indiana Plan.

He immediately declared it a “victory for Hoosiers enrolled in this innovative program and will ensure that Indiana remains at the forefront of consumer-driven health care in the United States.”

But is this a victory for Hoosiers?

First, let’s do some math.

This is a state of 6.5 million people. In an interview with Gov. Pence last Tuesday, he put the uninsured population at 880,000. In the state’s biennial budget passed last April, it provided funding for an additional 90,000 Hoosiers to be covered under the pre-Obamacare Medicaid system. At the insistence of Senate Appropriations Chairman Luke Kenley, R-Noblesville, about $400 million was placed in the budget to cover a full extension of Medicaid under President Obama’s Affordable Care Act.

“We think 500,000 will be eligible for participation in the premium tax credits for the health care exchanges,” Pence told me. The current Healthy Indiana Plan covers 36,600, and there are 55,000 people on the waiting list. As part of the federal waiver through 2014, HIP enrollment will expand by 15,000 people. “We’ll be just shy of 50,000,” the governor said.

That puts the pool of uninsured around 300,000.

The governor wants to use the Healthy Indiana Plan as the vehicle for Obamacare-era Medicaid expansion. “In terms of the where to go from here, we just cleared our first prerequisite,” Pence said. “My other two prerequisites in Medicaid expansion are: It has to preserve elements of the consumer-driven model of the Healthy Indiana Plan, and it has to be fiscally responsible and sustainable.”

Under Obamacare, 100 percent of the Medicaid expansion will be covered for the first three years, and then 90 percent in perpetuity. “That 10 percent we would have to pick up in the long term is a very significant expense for the state of Indiana,” the governor said.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll