Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 9, 2013

BRIAN HOWEY: Health care amidst the amber waves of grain

State leaders have some soul-searching to do.

Gov. Mike Pence achieved a bureaucratic goal early last week when the Obama adminis-tration signed off on a one-year extension of a federal waiver for the Healthy Indiana Plan.

He immediately declared it a “victory for Hoosiers enrolled in this innovative program and will ensure that Indiana remains at the forefront of consumer-driven health care in the United States.”

But is this a victory for Hoosiers?

First, let’s do some math.

This is a state of 6.5 million people. In an interview with Gov. Pence last Tuesday, he put the uninsured population at 880,000. In the state’s biennial budget passed last April, it provided funding for an additional 90,000 Hoosiers to be covered under the pre-Obamacare Medicaid system. At the insistence of Senate Appropriations Chairman Luke Kenley, R-Noblesville, about $400 million was placed in the budget to cover a full extension of Medicaid under President Obama’s Affordable Care Act.

“We think 500,000 will be eligible for participation in the premium tax credits for the health care exchanges,” Pence told me. The current Healthy Indiana Plan covers 36,600, and there are 55,000 people on the waiting list. As part of the federal waiver through 2014, HIP enrollment will expand by 15,000 people. “We’ll be just shy of 50,000,” the governor said.

That puts the pool of uninsured around 300,000.

The governor wants to use the Healthy Indiana Plan as the vehicle for Obamacare-era Medicaid expansion. “In terms of the where to go from here, we just cleared our first prerequisite,” Pence said. “My other two prerequisites in Medicaid expansion are: It has to preserve elements of the consumer-driven model of the Healthy Indiana Plan, and it has to be fiscally responsible and sustainable.”

Under Obamacare, 100 percent of the Medicaid expansion will be covered for the first three years, and then 90 percent in perpetuity. “That 10 percent we would have to pick up in the long term is a very significant expense for the state of Indiana,” the governor said.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll