Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 9, 2013

BRIAN HOWEY: Health care amidst the amber waves of grain

State leaders have some soul-searching to do.

(Continued)

Thus, Pence is calling for a “modest” expansion of Medicaid under the Healthy Indiana Plan. And if the feds reject HIP for expansion, Pence is prepared to walk away.

And this is where a values element comes in — one every taxpayer, every lawmaker and our governor needs carefully to consider.

Asked what his message is to the insured citizens who essentially subsidize the 300,000 uninsured, Pence talked about a “broad range of services” to the uninsured, citing hospital charity care, the “Disproportion Share Hospitals” like Wishard in Indianapolis, Parkview in Fort Wayne, and community health centers. “Health care is available to most Hoosiers,” Pence said at Tuesday’s press conference. “Every person has the ability to walk into an emergency room.”

Pence acknowledged many community health professionals and local hospitals are concerned about what would happen if the federal government does not approve HIP for a full Medicaid expansion. Health care industry sources tell me the Healthy Indiana Plan is not designed for a full expansion and would likely be dramatically changed by the federal government. “It’s an honest disagreement,” Pence said.

Citizens in Elkhart heard it last Wednesday night when Elkhart General Hospital President Greg Losasso said his community would be “disadvantaged” without the federal funds that would come with a Medicaid expansion. In the first three years under Obamacare, the number Pence is prepared to leave on the table is $10.45 billion (Indiana’s biennial budget is $15 billion). Potential cost to the state between 2014 and 2020 range from $600 million to cover those “out of the woodwork” — or current Hoosiers eligible for Medicaid coverage — and up to $2 billion to cover 300,000.

My colleague from CNHI, reporter Maureen Hayden, has written a column every Hoosier should read that adds some stunning perspective to the stakes here. She reported 2.7 million Hoosiers sought care in hospital emergency rooms last year. Thirty Indiana counties have no obstetric services. Because of this lack of pre- and post-natal care, Indiana’s infant mortality rate is a stunning 7.7 per 1,000 babies, a full percentage above the national average. Of 35 “critical access” hospitals in rural Indiana, 11 of them are losing money.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll