Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 9, 2013

Sept. 9, 2013: Letters to the editor

(Continued)

The disrespectful tone of juwi’s address and the groundless accusations hurled at Mr. Acres, coupled with the characteristically untrue public statement issued by juwi’s CEO Michael Rucker last week, are a mockery of our county’s procedures and an insult to the intelligence of the county officials and citizens present that evening. Juwi revealed its true colors in what will go down in Tipton County history as one of the most bizarre public hearings. BZA President Jerry Acres proved his integrity and protected the integrity of the BZA that evening and will long be remembered as a hero of Tipton County.

Juwi has not forgotten the unprecedented nine-hour public hearing in March, filled with expert and public testimony that led up to the BZA’s decision to approve the Prairie Breeze Wind Farm with two clearly stated conditions. Juwi had its due process. It simply does not like the result of that process. Contrary to juwi’s unintelligible claims, ground rules were not arbitrarily changed at a moment’s notice. Juwi had no uncertainty of the ground rules for the Aug. 28 hearing; it simply made its best attempt to convince Mr. Acres the color blue is actually red. Thankfully, Mr. Acres did not fall for juwi’s illogical assertions.

Unfortunately, juwi and other wind energy companies seem willing to continue their efforts to cover residential rural areas with nearly 500-foot tall industrial wind turbines. As a county, we must prevent the invasive and unethical practices of such companies going forward. As revisions to the ordinance are set to take place in the very near future, the Planning Commission has the prime opportunity to ban industrial wind turbines in Tipton County. Tipton can easily follow the lead of Marshall County, which has already taken such action to preserve the unity and integrity of the community. If the Planning Commission and our commissioners leave the door open for wind energy companies in the future, the absurdity of the Aug. 28 BZA hearing will become the norm, and litigation will be a new way of life for Tipton County. The true colors of wind energy companies have been clearly revealed in this lengthy process.

Nathan D. Salsbery

Tipton

Take a stand

We welcome your letters. To ensure your letter is published in quick order:

• Hold your letter to 250 words or fewer.

• Sign your letter with your full name, address and daytime phone number so that authorship can be verified.

• Email your letter to jeff.kovaleski@kokomotribune com or mail to Opinions, Kokomo Tribune, 300 N. Union St., Kokomo, IN 46904.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Treasure the life you have I was asked by a reader what my thought on what life is for me in my late years. So here I go with some of my thoughts, but don’t think I am just making them up as I go. Life to me is the time between the day I was born and the day that I am called h

    August 23, 2014

  • Cheers and Jeers Taste of Kokomo accommodationSusie and Andy Castner send this Cheer:“A cheer to Randy Morris, City of Kokomo Park Supt. for accommodating our family for the David Cook concert at Taste of Kokomo. It made it so much easier for our mom to get to seatin

    August 23, 2014

  • State challengesfederal government Recently, some have questioned why the State of Indiana has brought lawsuits against our federal government. While this litigation is adversarial by nature, it is a necessary part of our constitutional process. What distinguishes the U.S. Constitutio

    August 23, 2014

  • Aug. 23: Letters to the Editor Paying for lack of leadershipThe salaries of the Board of County Commissioners and the complete funding of the Local Economic Development Organization, is from taxes paid by the residents of Tipton County. The actions of these two entities are unacce

    August 23, 2014

  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll