Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 8, 2010

HECK: The misguided practice of homosexual family law

The consequences of which is a reshaping of society.

The story is both heartbreaking and infuriating. Peter Sprigg of the Family Research Council recently wrote a column telling this painful account that is being completely and totally ignored by the mainstream press.

Lisa Miller, a Virginia woman, is the mother of a beautiful 7-year-old girl named Isabella. Isabella was the product of artificial insemination, meaning that her biological father was an anonymous sperm donor making Lisa her only known biological parent.

At the time Lisa had Isabella conceived in her womb, she was practicing homosexuality with a woman named Janet Jenkins. For the first year of Isabella’s life, Lisa and Janet maintained a relationship, even traveling to Vermont to obtain the legal recognition known as a “civil union.” As time went by, however, Lisa began to realize that her effort to find fulfillment in sexual depravity wasn’t working. She began to attend a Christian church again and soon decided to end the relationship. She and her biological daughter then moved back to Virginia where Lisa has raised her for the last six years.

Initially, Isabella was taken to Janet for visitation, but many times would return from those trips emotionally distressed, confused and sometimes experiencing severe anxiety. Concerned for the well-being of her daughter, Lisa ended the visitation sessions with Janet … and set into motion a series of events that prove the backwards and radical nature of the homosexual lobby.  

It also proves the utter foolishness behind the notion advanced by the homosexual movement that a person’s identity should be defined by their chosen behaviors. The fact is that homosexuality is what a person does, not who a person is. And failing to understand that has tragic implications for both the family and society at large.

Because the state of Vermont gave into the bullying tactics of the homosexual political agenda, it wrote utter nonsense into its law that is now upending any rational approach to the Lisa-Janet-Isabella saga. Vermont’s highest court has ordered that Lisa surrender Isabella to the authorities, who will then give custody to Janet as the rightful parent.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll