Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 3, 2012

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 3, 2012

Kokomo — Vote the Bible on Election Day

It is being said this is the most important election in the history of our country, not because of unemployment, not because of our staggering national debt, but because of losing our religious freedom. And where religious freedom goes, there goes liberty!

I listened to a speech where President Obama declared, “We are not a Christian nation.” I resent that statement very much.

My father, my two brothers, my husband and one of my sons served in our armed forces and were ready to spill their blood for our Christian nation.

In the book “No Higher Power,” Phyllis Schlafly writes, “The first year in office, the U.S. bishops’ most prestigious university, Notre Dame, invited Obama to speak at the graduation ceremonies and conferred upon him an honorary degree.” Later the bishops objected to Obama’s honorary degree from Notre Dame and “the Vatican would soon realize that it had misjudged the president.”

And this was before Obama became America’s first gay president. “Where gay marriage exists, freedom quickly disappears,” Schlafly writes.

In a poll of 2009, 20 percent of medical students reported they are not pursuing a career in obstetrics because of coercion to perform abortions against their beliefs. Our country needs to head in a new direction.

Wilma Scott Baker, Kokomo

 

GOP campaign has been ‘eye-opening’

This year’s election cycle has been very informative and eye-opening. It is now crystal clear that Republicans wrap themselves in the flag and family values, yet try to suppress the vote of the poor and middle class.

They barely mention the veterans and their needs, even though they started the last two wars. They protect the rich and deny women’s rights and choices, and it is baffling that they would now try to dismantle Social Security and Medicare.

Remember this in future elections, or we will be having this conversation again.

Denny Clelland, Kokomo

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll