Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 19, 2013

Brautigam: 'You need the library and we need you'

Subtle messages are all around us, from simple things such as the photos on cereal boxes to the complex – possibly stretching to include a handful of ’60s songs played backward. Certainly most people who have given much thought to television ads or who have ever spent time with a 4-year-old who questions just about everything have probably noticed that implied messages are at least as powerful as overt ones.

When I walk through our buildings, one of the things I try to look for is what “stealth” messages our organization, the public library, is sending to people who come through our doors. Let me tell you about some of the things I’ve seen recently and what they “said” to me.I noticed a woman who was working on a jigsaw puzzle we had out as an activity at one of our branches, even though there were literally hundreds of people there at the time and she was surrounded by noise and, quite honestly, chaos. She explained that she loves to do puzzles but doesn’t have a place at her house where she can leave one in progress. She was intent and quiet, enjoying a pastime that she rarely experiences. When I dropped by to check on extended craft times that we offered, teens and adults were working at a pace that suited them, seeming to be absorbed fully in what they were making. Often they tried different interpretations of the same concept because they had the freedom to do that. We have a number of truly candid photos from these times because participants were concentrating so fully that they never noticed the camera.At KHCPL Main in our Children’s Department, I’ve watched a pillar behind the help desk be transformed into a giant tree. Stuffed woodland creatures are nestled against it, and at the moment it sports fall leaves. Take a walk around it and you’ll find a poster that shows silhouettes of popular book characters for kids to identify, or go down the aisle and you’ll run across toddler-height magnet boards with alphabet letters to arrange and sort. On a table there are coloring sheets that reflect the theme of an upcoming event and have the time, date and particulars on that same sheet so you’ll have it handy once you get home.Each of these library opportunities gives more than one message, but let me name a few. One that is obvious to me is, “Come in, make yourself at home, and stay awhile.” I also see, “We feed creativity.” More than anything else, though, I see “You need the library and the library needs you.” What value is there in unmade crafts or unused activities, and how much richer would your life be if you took time for something you love or challenged yourself with something new? It brings to mind a line from the song One Drop by Plumb: “I need you and you need me; left alone, we will never be who we could be …” Come and visit the library soon. Stay awhile and explore what we have to offer. Together we will be much better than either of us could be alone.Faith Brautigam is the Director of the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll