Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 21, 2013

RAY DAY: Answers to my readers

Every once in a while, my readers write me and ask questions about me and about things that are most in my thoughts. I was asked the other day, "What are your thoughts about the Syria problem?" And, although the thought of using chemical poisoning is sickening to me, there is a chance that making a move toward that problem means we just might get ourselves in another war where nothing is accomplished except the killing of our brave service men and women. Unless we are in danger of them trying to take us over, we should stay out of there — unless it is a worldwide effort by all countries and not just us. Of course, if someone would check it out, they might find that many other countries have the capabilities of stockpiling the same killing agents. Let’s let those in that country fight their own battles and then, when that is done, we take another look. In all the wars we have been in, we are the ones who end up making that country livable again.

I was asked what was my most disappointing happening, and I have to say that losing our daughter Patricia to cancer was a blow that can never be forgotten, but we learn to cope with that loss. And losing my brother, Russell, to cancer last December was very hard for this old man to cope with. Losing Mom and Dad and other members of the family hurt a lot, but we know that sometime our parents will pass on to Heaven once their job is done here on Earth. We would like to think that our children will bury us, not the other way around. Three things in my life mean a lot to me and, naturally, my marriage to Ramona and the births of our two daughters, Deborah and Patricia, are those three things. Now having grandchildren and great-grandchildren have joined that list and God is good. The honor of doing well in school and receiving a scholarship to Indiana University was a high mark in my life as it showed that one can achieve when he or she has the proper schooling education, as I did.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Chewing over news in bite-size vignettes Today, I am going to share a few "opinionettes" about current news items. Ready? Let's go! City prosperity The unemployment rate in the United States is down to 6.7 percent. This is its lowest level since October 2008. When I remember government effo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll