Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

September 21, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Sept. 21, 2013

Thank you for assisting the handicapped

Mary Ellen Brookshire sends out this cheer to Red Lobster restaurant in Kokomo.

“A few weeks ago, myself and three other ladies were planning lunch at Red Lobster. I picked up one of the ladies and was told by her helper that she was wheelchair bound at this time. Her wheel chair was put in my trunk, she was settled in, and we were on our way.

Upon arriving at the door to Red Lobster, I knew none of us were able to handle the chair and get the person inside the restaurant. I went inside and asked the hostess if there were any men available that could assist me.

“Immediately two gentlemen arrived. They were successful in getting my friend settled inside. When we were ready to leave, they were there once again and got us on the road.

“If you feel that Kokomo has a lot of eating places with no assistance for handicapped people, remember Red Lobster. I am proud to say they know how to treat people and their food is outstanding. Kokomo is lucky to have them.”

Concert series was music to his ears

Bill J. Smyser sends this cheer for the Greentown Music at the Fountain summer concert series:

“With nine performances this year, 2013 marked the 9th year in a row for Music at the Fountain summer concert series in Greentown. They heard and observed another great year of music of the ’50s, ’60s and ’70s. The bands were enjoyed by record crowds of up to 700 people in attendance each week.

“The list of eight bands, performing in a superior manner, were: Bill Tandy and Sally Duke, Old Dudes Rock, Ginny Spillman – Patsy Cline tribute, Livin Forgivin, Spittin Image, The Blue Notes, Let’s Boogie Bandy by Tim Jones and Almost Country. These bands were remarkable and selected by chairman Sally Duke.

“A cake walk each week was directed by Angie Sparks.

“Dancing to the boogie-woogie and the twist was also enjoyed by many in attendance.

“A big thank you again to Sally Duke for her leadership, and to the donation by Community First Bank and the many interested sponsors.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll