Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

September 21, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Sept. 21, 2013

Thank you for assisting the handicapped

Mary Ellen Brookshire sends out this cheer to Red Lobster restaurant in Kokomo.

“A few weeks ago, myself and three other ladies were planning lunch at Red Lobster. I picked up one of the ladies and was told by her helper that she was wheelchair bound at this time. Her wheel chair was put in my trunk, she was settled in, and we were on our way.

Upon arriving at the door to Red Lobster, I knew none of us were able to handle the chair and get the person inside the restaurant. I went inside and asked the hostess if there were any men available that could assist me.

“Immediately two gentlemen arrived. They were successful in getting my friend settled inside. When we were ready to leave, they were there once again and got us on the road.

“If you feel that Kokomo has a lot of eating places with no assistance for handicapped people, remember Red Lobster. I am proud to say they know how to treat people and their food is outstanding. Kokomo is lucky to have them.”

Concert series was music to his ears

Bill J. Smyser sends this cheer for the Greentown Music at the Fountain summer concert series:

“With nine performances this year, 2013 marked the 9th year in a row for Music at the Fountain summer concert series in Greentown. They heard and observed another great year of music of the ’50s, ’60s and ’70s. The bands were enjoyed by record crowds of up to 700 people in attendance each week.

“The list of eight bands, performing in a superior manner, were: Bill Tandy and Sally Duke, Old Dudes Rock, Ginny Spillman – Patsy Cline tribute, Livin Forgivin, Spittin Image, The Blue Notes, Let’s Boogie Bandy by Tim Jones and Almost Country. These bands were remarkable and selected by chairman Sally Duke.

“A cake walk each week was directed by Angie Sparks.

“Dancing to the boogie-woogie and the twist was also enjoyed by many in attendance.

“A big thank you again to Sally Duke for her leadership, and to the donation by Community First Bank and the many interested sponsors.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll