Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

September 21, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Sept. 21, 2013

Thank you for assisting the handicapped

Mary Ellen Brookshire sends out this cheer to Red Lobster restaurant in Kokomo.

“A few weeks ago, myself and three other ladies were planning lunch at Red Lobster. I picked up one of the ladies and was told by her helper that she was wheelchair bound at this time. Her wheel chair was put in my trunk, she was settled in, and we were on our way.

Upon arriving at the door to Red Lobster, I knew none of us were able to handle the chair and get the person inside the restaurant. I went inside and asked the hostess if there were any men available that could assist me.

“Immediately two gentlemen arrived. They were successful in getting my friend settled inside. When we were ready to leave, they were there once again and got us on the road.

“If you feel that Kokomo has a lot of eating places with no assistance for handicapped people, remember Red Lobster. I am proud to say they know how to treat people and their food is outstanding. Kokomo is lucky to have them.”

Concert series was music to his ears

Bill J. Smyser sends this cheer for the Greentown Music at the Fountain summer concert series:

“With nine performances this year, 2013 marked the 9th year in a row for Music at the Fountain summer concert series in Greentown. They heard and observed another great year of music of the ’50s, ’60s and ’70s. The bands were enjoyed by record crowds of up to 700 people in attendance each week.

“The list of eight bands, performing in a superior manner, were: Bill Tandy and Sally Duke, Old Dudes Rock, Ginny Spillman – Patsy Cline tribute, Livin Forgivin, Spittin Image, The Blue Notes, Let’s Boogie Bandy by Tim Jones and Almost Country. These bands were remarkable and selected by chairman Sally Duke.

“A cake walk each week was directed by Angie Sparks.

“Dancing to the boogie-woogie and the twist was also enjoyed by many in attendance.

“A big thank you again to Sally Duke for her leadership, and to the donation by Community First Bank and the many interested sponsors.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll