Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 28, 2013

Sept. 28, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

‘Support fills our hearts!’

Sherry Schulte of Kokomo sends this Cheer on behalf of the Schulte and Dwyer families:

“The Schulte and Dwyer families would like to extend our deepest gratitude to all of the people who took part in the “Schulte Tonic Ball” fundraiser for the Dan Schulte family in Seattle, Wash.

“A warm thank-you to the organizers: Matt and Kate Mays, Matt and Becky Salsbery, Mandy Wright-Jarrett, Jennifer Edwards, Missy Hawkins Smith, Andy Alger and Adam Carter.

“Thank you to Pastor Steve Cole for the invocation and his continued support.

“We appreciate WWKI for providing promotional airtime, and DJ Allan James for his time hosting the evening’s events.

“The following musicians gave of their time and talents and a big smile goes to: The Haters, Brian Deer Band, Gary Rhum & Eric Hyman of the Teacup Orchestra, Rodney Collins and Second Hand Smoke, John Mast, Mitchell White, Shawn Shell, and Nick & Sammy.

“Thank you to the vendors for their time and support: Sunspot, Little Caesar’s, DJ’s Kettle Corn, artist Trish Little, Jewelry by Joanie, The Hummingbird Case, Terri Pearce, Ken of Kokomo Kona Ice, Maureen Maynard of Baja Salsa, Copper Creek Farms/Delectables, Pam Bailey of Baileys Concessions, Planet Mind, and Bliss Studio.

“The following donors to the silent auction were greatly appreciated: Orange Leaf, Half Moon Restaurant, Coffee Junkiez, Pizza Hut, Great Wall Chinese Restaurant, Jamie’s Soda Fountain, Kokomo Opalescent Glass, Cook McDoogal’s Irish Pub, John Meyer/Adrianne Sutton, Posh Salon, Lauren and Larry Mueller, Salsbery Garden Center, Laura’s Clothing, Anytime Fitness, Kara McKibben, Tonia Hawkins, Solidarity Federal Credit Union, Kokomo Cycling and Fitness, Melissa and Ryan Duncan, 20/20 Vision, Strands Salon, Buckner Distributing, IU Sports Properties, Palmer’s Jewelry, Hall, Render, Killian, Keith & Lyman, Chippendale Golf Course, Terri Pearce, Michelle Milburn, Indiana State Fair, Indiana Grand Casino, Adam Carter, Guarantee Carpet Cleaning and Cone Palace.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership' On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than

    April 16, 2014

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge US Supports Ukraine's Efforts to Calm Tensions Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' After Attack, Officials Kill 5 Bears in Florida Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll