Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 2, 2013

Food handler for nonprofits

Not a day goes by that this newspaper doesn’t print some sort of community event that involves food. From fish fries to fresh doughnuts to spaghetti dinners to chicken and noodles, there’s no shortage of goods eats in the area.

Not only do these type of events provide an opportunity to come together as a community, they are also an invaluable part of fundraising for churches and nonprofits. They also are currently the source of scrutiny from the state.

On the heels of legislation passed by the General Assembly earlier this year, the Indiana State Department of Health is looking for ways to reduce the risk of foodborne illnesses at these events.

The trick will be to find a balance between providing for public safety without regulating them into oblivion.

Part of the problem is the state has confusing and conflicting food-safety laws. Some nonprofit organizations fall under the law’s jurisdiction but others do not.

You might be asking yourself, what’s the big fuss all about? Well, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, there were more than 5 million people hospitalized, and 149 deaths, due to the norovirus in 2011. Another 19,336 were hospitalized due to salmonella poisoning, which claimed 378 lives.

Both the norovirus and salmonella poisoning are direct results of improper food handling and preparation. Because there isn’t regulation and there’s a general lack of safe food-handling training, these problems often creep in at community events.

We think what’s needed to curb the problem is a big helping of awareness, with a pinch of regulation.

Event organizers need to be taught the basics of food-safety rules in order to reduce food-contamination outbreaks that lead to illness, hospitalizations and deaths. There should be a point person for every event who knows these rules and oversees the preparation of food.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll