Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 2, 2013

Food handler for nonprofits

Not a day goes by that this newspaper doesn’t print some sort of community event that involves food. From fish fries to fresh doughnuts to spaghetti dinners to chicken and noodles, there’s no shortage of goods eats in the area.

Not only do these type of events provide an opportunity to come together as a community, they are also an invaluable part of fundraising for churches and nonprofits. They also are currently the source of scrutiny from the state.

On the heels of legislation passed by the General Assembly earlier this year, the Indiana State Department of Health is looking for ways to reduce the risk of foodborne illnesses at these events.

The trick will be to find a balance between providing for public safety without regulating them into oblivion.

Part of the problem is the state has confusing and conflicting food-safety laws. Some nonprofit organizations fall under the law’s jurisdiction but others do not.

You might be asking yourself, what’s the big fuss all about? Well, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, there were more than 5 million people hospitalized, and 149 deaths, due to the norovirus in 2011. Another 19,336 were hospitalized due to salmonella poisoning, which claimed 378 lives.

Both the norovirus and salmonella poisoning are direct results of improper food handling and preparation. Because there isn’t regulation and there’s a general lack of safe food-handling training, these problems often creep in at community events.

We think what’s needed to curb the problem is a big helping of awareness, with a pinch of regulation.

Event organizers need to be taught the basics of food-safety rules in order to reduce food-contamination outbreaks that lead to illness, hospitalizations and deaths. There should be a point person for every event who knows these rules and oversees the preparation of food.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll