Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 4, 2013

Oct. 4, 2013: Letters to the editor

Americans will rise against Obamacare

The first days of Obamacare are upon us. The vast majority of Americans now or will soon recognize the profusion of problems with this 20,000-plus-page monstrosity.

The administration is begging young people to jump on the bandwagon (bearing much of the financial burden) and sign up for coverage. Surprise, Mr. President, your words and actions, in the past months, have turned off the very groups that put you in office for a second term. You have even managed to alienate the union supporters.

As this law now stands, I predict within the next year the American people will have suffered so horribly from Obamacare’s drastic increase in insurance costs, invasion of our privacy, contradictory rules, excessive taxes, unjustified fines, loss of chosen doctors and health providers, and life-ending decisions by the Death Panel, they will rise up en masse and demand Congress stop our suffering. Maybe even demand term limits.

Or, to stop the misery for American citizens, Congress will wisely override Obama’s numerous illegal Obamacare exemptions for the likes of big business, selected educator and labor groups, members of Congress and the White House staff. Let them utilize the outstanding benefits (Obama’s words) of his “affordable” health care law, just like we in the president’s middle and lower classes will be forced to do.

Are you listening, Sen. Reid?

John Paul

Warren

EPA plan will raise your electric bill

The strict carbon emission limits recently proposed by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) will mean higher electric bills for business and residential consumers. The warranted outrage over this latest maneuver, which comes with no evidence of improving overall air quality, was plentiful and came from various corners. A few examples:

U.S. Sen. Joe Donnelly, D-Ind.: “I strongly believe there is a way to reduce carbon dioxide emissions, protect our environment and our health, while at the same time make sure we are not excessively burdening the Hoosier families and businesses that rely on affordable power. The regulations proposed fail to meet this basic, common-sense objective.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll