Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 4, 2013

Oct. 4, 2013: Letters to the editor

Americans will rise against Obamacare

The first days of Obamacare are upon us. The vast majority of Americans now or will soon recognize the profusion of problems with this 20,000-plus-page monstrosity.

The administration is begging young people to jump on the bandwagon (bearing much of the financial burden) and sign up for coverage. Surprise, Mr. President, your words and actions, in the past months, have turned off the very groups that put you in office for a second term. You have even managed to alienate the union supporters.

As this law now stands, I predict within the next year the American people will have suffered so horribly from Obamacare’s drastic increase in insurance costs, invasion of our privacy, contradictory rules, excessive taxes, unjustified fines, loss of chosen doctors and health providers, and life-ending decisions by the Death Panel, they will rise up en masse and demand Congress stop our suffering. Maybe even demand term limits.

Or, to stop the misery for American citizens, Congress will wisely override Obama’s numerous illegal Obamacare exemptions for the likes of big business, selected educator and labor groups, members of Congress and the White House staff. Let them utilize the outstanding benefits (Obama’s words) of his “affordable” health care law, just like we in the president’s middle and lower classes will be forced to do.

Are you listening, Sen. Reid?

John Paul

Warren

EPA plan will raise your electric bill

The strict carbon emission limits recently proposed by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) will mean higher electric bills for business and residential consumers. The warranted outrage over this latest maneuver, which comes with no evidence of improving overall air quality, was plentiful and came from various corners. A few examples:

U.S. Sen. Joe Donnelly, D-Ind.: “I strongly believe there is a way to reduce carbon dioxide emissions, protect our environment and our health, while at the same time make sure we are not excessively burdening the Hoosier families and businesses that rely on affordable power. The regulations proposed fail to meet this basic, common-sense objective.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll