Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 4, 2013

Oct. 4, 2013: Letters to the editor

Americans will rise against Obamacare

The first days of Obamacare are upon us. The vast majority of Americans now or will soon recognize the profusion of problems with this 20,000-plus-page monstrosity.

The administration is begging young people to jump on the bandwagon (bearing much of the financial burden) and sign up for coverage. Surprise, Mr. President, your words and actions, in the past months, have turned off the very groups that put you in office for a second term. You have even managed to alienate the union supporters.

As this law now stands, I predict within the next year the American people will have suffered so horribly from Obamacare’s drastic increase in insurance costs, invasion of our privacy, contradictory rules, excessive taxes, unjustified fines, loss of chosen doctors and health providers, and life-ending decisions by the Death Panel, they will rise up en masse and demand Congress stop our suffering. Maybe even demand term limits.

Or, to stop the misery for American citizens, Congress will wisely override Obama’s numerous illegal Obamacare exemptions for the likes of big business, selected educator and labor groups, members of Congress and the White House staff. Let them utilize the outstanding benefits (Obama’s words) of his “affordable” health care law, just like we in the president’s middle and lower classes will be forced to do.

Are you listening, Sen. Reid?

John Paul

Warren

EPA plan will raise your electric bill

The strict carbon emission limits recently proposed by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) will mean higher electric bills for business and residential consumers. The warranted outrage over this latest maneuver, which comes with no evidence of improving overall air quality, was plentiful and came from various corners. A few examples:

U.S. Sen. Joe Donnelly, D-Ind.: “I strongly believe there is a way to reduce carbon dioxide emissions, protect our environment and our health, while at the same time make sure we are not excessively burdening the Hoosier families and businesses that rely on affordable power. The regulations proposed fail to meet this basic, common-sense objective.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll