Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 9, 2013

Oct. 9, 2013: Letters to the editor

Off descendantsstill live in Tipton

Jacob G. Off was a prominent Tipton County farmer, and one of the county commissioners when the present courthouse and jail were built. He also was instrumental in laying out the county’s road grid.

He was born Dec. 25, 1839, in Wurttemberg, Germany, the last of eight children born to George P. and Walburga Mertz öf. In 1852, three of his brothers came to America and settled in Indianapolis, with Jacob joining them in 1854. He came to his new land as Georg Jakob öf (pronounced Gay-org Yuhkub Oof), but he was afraid Americans would not be able to pronounce his name correctly, so he changed it by dropping the umlaut from the “O” in his last name and adding an “f,” and he rearranged his first and middle names and became Jacob George Off.

He worked at a deaf and dumb asylum. Unable to speak much English nor being well-educated, he enrolled in night classes to advance himself. While continuing his education, he took up the carpentry trade and worked on a number of major projects in Indianapolis. In 1863, he entered into a partnership with two of his brothers to operate a sawmill and lumber business in Indianapolis. In 1865, they moved to Tipton County where they purchased a sawmill north of Tipton at Jackson Station, along with a large parcel of timberland.

For eight years they continued to operate the mill successfully, and they also began clearing the land in preparation for agricultural purposes. In 1873 they sold the sawmill and turned their attention to farming, and in 1877 the brothers divided up their holdings. Jacob Off became the owner of 430 acres, which he continued to clear and improve.

He was appointed postmaster of Jackson Station and served for several years. Having been elected a county commissioner when the new courthouse was begun, Jacob Off called upon a young architect he had made the acquaintance of in Indianapolis named Adolph Scherrer to prepare the plans. Scherrer worked in the office of architect Edwin May, who had designed the new Statehouse in Indianapolis but died before it was finished, leaving the task of completing the structure to Scherrer. Scherrer also designed the jail that still stands in downtown Tipton.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll