Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 20, 2013

ED VASICEK: It's getting colder; start a new book

Here are 3 titles you might want to try

I am one of those guys who welcomes the cool weather. My friends who love the warm weather save their spoiled tomatoes to throw at my picture, so if you are a hot weather lover, have at it. But read the column first, please!

I have always considered fall and winter great times to read. Although I read in spurts, I usually read several books at a time. So today, I am going to share three varied books I am or have been reading.

I am in the middle of a book titled, “Thinking Fast and Slow,” by Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahneman, former professor of psychology at Princeton. Kahneman proposes that we experience two levels of thinking: an instinctive, quick processing that takes little effort (thinking fast, system 1) and a more contemplative, analytical form of thinking (thinking slow, system 2). He cites experiments and studies that demonstrate we crave ease by nature and try to avoid slow thinking because of the effort it requires. The author concludes bluntly, “Laziness is built deep into our nature.”

Those who by nature or discipline are willing to think more deeply (system 2) are not necessarily smarter, but they are wiser. Kahneman supports the idea that, “rationality should be distinguished from intelligence ... superficial or ‘lazy’ thinking is a flaw in the reflective mind, a failure of rationality.”

As I was reading this, I began to wonder about both autism and attention deficit disorder. Could it be that those who experience attention deficit are even more resistant to engage in systems 2 (slow) thinking, and could it be that some on the autism spectrum are weak in the system 1 (quick intuitive) thinking department? Anyhow, if you are looking to better understand how you and others think and make decisions, you should find this a stimulating read.

My friend, Jonathan Skye, is the author of three (and soon four) books in the “Flurry the Bear” series. I have read the first three, and I highly recommend them for children ages 8-12. The stories are packed with adventure and scads of humor, yet they teach important lessons about life. Although secular in nature, they are faith-friendly.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll