Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 20, 2013

ED VASICEK: It's getting colder; start a new book

Here are 3 titles you might want to try

I am one of those guys who welcomes the cool weather. My friends who love the warm weather save their spoiled tomatoes to throw at my picture, so if you are a hot weather lover, have at it. But read the column first, please!

I have always considered fall and winter great times to read. Although I read in spurts, I usually read several books at a time. So today, I am going to share three varied books I am or have been reading.

I am in the middle of a book titled, “Thinking Fast and Slow,” by Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahneman, former professor of psychology at Princeton. Kahneman proposes that we experience two levels of thinking: an instinctive, quick processing that takes little effort (thinking fast, system 1) and a more contemplative, analytical form of thinking (thinking slow, system 2). He cites experiments and studies that demonstrate we crave ease by nature and try to avoid slow thinking because of the effort it requires. The author concludes bluntly, “Laziness is built deep into our nature.”

Those who by nature or discipline are willing to think more deeply (system 2) are not necessarily smarter, but they are wiser. Kahneman supports the idea that, “rationality should be distinguished from intelligence ... superficial or ‘lazy’ thinking is a flaw in the reflective mind, a failure of rationality.”

As I was reading this, I began to wonder about both autism and attention deficit disorder. Could it be that those who experience attention deficit are even more resistant to engage in systems 2 (slow) thinking, and could it be that some on the autism spectrum are weak in the system 1 (quick intuitive) thinking department? Anyhow, if you are looking to better understand how you and others think and make decisions, you should find this a stimulating read.

My friend, Jonathan Skye, is the author of three (and soon four) books in the “Flurry the Bear” series. I have read the first three, and I highly recommend them for children ages 8-12. The stories are packed with adventure and scads of humor, yet they teach important lessons about life. Although secular in nature, they are faith-friendly.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll