Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 20, 2013

The road to Cass' future

It’s been a long time coming, but it’s finally open.

The final leg — from Delphi to Logansport — of the Hoosier Heartland Corridor opened to traffic Friday.

Get out there and make real this moment in history.

How? Hit the road!

Go all the way to Delphi. Check out the Bicentennial Train currently parked there, if you missed its stop in Kokomo.

The train showcases the state’s long history as it nears its bicentennial. The three-car exhibit starts in the 1800s and works its way forward in time. The most interesting aspect of the exhibit is it goes beyond the present and shines a light on the future of our great state. In so many ways, Indiana is poised to do many great things in the future.

It is a timely message for Cass County residents who got there by the Hoosier Heartland, which will be a driver of its future.

The 35-mile, four-lane, limited-access, divided highway provides access from Lafayette to Logansport. The project can and will bring increased interest from industries looking to locate along a major thoroughfare. Cass and neighboring counties will have the golden opportunity of capitalizing on that interest.

It’ll be a goal all must work together to achieve, and Cass County officials have proven they can do that over the course of this road’s construction. While funding for highways has long proven to be a political battle, we didn’t see that as the case in Logansport and Cass County. This project has seen both sides of the political aisle come together to fight for a common good.

We’ve seen business leaders and elected officials work side by side in making this $213 million dream a reality.

There has been plenty of naysayers along the way, and there’s little chance they’ll not reappear in the future. But the Hoosier Heartland stands as a testament to what people can do and bodes well for Cass County’s success in the future. So as you’re driving along the new roadway, we encourage you to think about how it came to fruition. Think about the blood, sweat and tears that went into such a massive undertaking. Think about the collaborative efforts that made it possible.

And, most importantly, dream about what’s next.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll