Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 23, 2013

ANDREA NEAL: Hoosier values shaped by Northwest Ordinance

1787 document 'at core of civic heritage'

Editor’s note: This is the 10th in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016.

Indiana became a state in 1816. Its political values, moral compass and physical boundaries were shaped by the Northwest Ordinance of 1787.

The ordinance spelled out how new states would be added to the Union and the rights that would be guaranteed to citizens.

John J. Patrick, professor emeritus of education at Indiana University, calls the ordinance “a brilliant policy for governing a vast area north and west of the Ohio River — a liberal and innovative plan for colonial administration and national development.”

The document “is indisputably at the core of the American civic heritage, one of the most important political legacies we have,” Patrick said.

When the United States won the American Revolution, the 13 original states gained massive new lands stretching west to the Mississippi River and north to the Great Lakes. The Northwest Ordinance was one of several laws passed by the national Congress governing land division and westward migration.

It dealt specifically with the Old Northwest — the Midwest today — out of which “not less than three nor more than five States” were to be carved. The result? Ohio (1803), Indiana (1816), Illinois (1818), Michigan (1837) and Wisconsin (1848).

The ordinance set forth a process by which territories would elect legislatures, write constitutions and apply to the national government for statehood. It guaranteed new states would enter the Union “on an equal footing with the original states” and specified their probable geographic borders.

The Ohio River became Indiana’s southern boundary. The northern perimeter was a moving target for decades. After Ohio was admitted to the Union in 1803 and the Michigan Territory created in 1805, the boundary line was set at the southern tip of Lake Michigan. In 1816, the line was shifted 10 miles further north so Indiana could claim a bit of lakeshore.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll