Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

October 24, 2013

Oct. 24, 2013: Letters to the editor

Party wholesomeas Mom, apple pie

On the Sunday, Oct. 20, Opinion page, Mr. Floyd of Greentown opined that he had proven the tea party to be dangerous for the U.S. and rested his case.

I assume he is placing the blame for the recent government shutdown squarely on the tea party’s shoulders. It is his right to put forth such a view.

However, there is another side to be heard. In the last four and a half years, the U.S. has increased its total debt, incurred since the 1776 inception of the country. In the same four-plus years, our employment has dropped dramatically, gasoline prices have doubled, food stamp participants have increased from 30 million to more than 47 million, unemployment has risen from 5.7 percent to 7.4 percent, qualitative easing has been pumping $65 billion into the bond market each month, the IRS has been harassing anyone not in step with the administration, a little gun-running operation called “Fast and Furious” unloaded guns and grenades in Mexico, the rollout of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) is a complete disaster, and our WWII veterans could not visit the World War II Memorial. This doesn’t include our diminished status on the world stage.

The answer to these problems is always, blame Bush. In case you haven’t noticed, things are in a mess in this country.

The tea party gets the blame and is labeled dangerous to the country. Actually, the tea party was formed due to the manner in which the ACA was passed by one party, unilaterally, which is the only major law to be so passed. It also took reconciliation to get it through the Senate.

The tea party wants accountability in government, responsible debt management, an end to foreign energy dependency, preservation of liberty and equal treatment, a reduction in both tax amounts and the number of taxes, and less government spending among other things.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll