Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 27, 2013

ED VASICEK: It's a jungle out there

Obama can't dodge entanglement

As a lad, I remem-ber watching Buster Crabb on Saturday mornings, as local stations aired old movies. “Flash Gordon” and “Buck Rogers” were my favorites, but I also watched a number of jungle-based Tarzan movies. Back then, “rain forests” were called “jungles.”

The word “jungle” developed a broader meaning over the years. Webster sometimes defines it as “an impenetrable thicket or tangled mass of tropical vegetation,” but at other times as “a confused or disordered mass of objects” or “a place of ruthless struggle for survival.” Jungles often include animals, violence and entanglements.

Take animals. Sometimes it can be a jungle even at Walmart! According to Yahoo Odd News, “The Apopka, Florida police were called out when a 6-foot long alligator strolled outside of the city’s local Walmart ... the uninvited visitor walked near the store’s automatic sliding doors and lingered, causing the doors to open and close. Walmart employees took precautions by locking the doors ... But by the time the trapper arrived, the gator had already made its exit.”

Compared to that experience, our local Walmart seems pretty tame — even on a Saturday! But watch out for those deadly bunny rabbits! Have I been watching old Monty Python movies? No, rabbits can be dangerous — at least in Scotland. Note this item from the AFP:

“The windswept Scottish island of Canna is home to just 12 people — and 16,000 rabbits. But thousands of the bunnies are set to be culled after their frantic burrowing caused a landslide, officials said Monday ... A landslide on Canna last week is being partly blamed on underground rabbit warrens which weakened the soil structure...”

Looks like the Scots will soon be eating German cuisine. Hasenpfeffer, to be exact!

Getting slightly more serious, President Obama recently apologized for the messed-up Obamacare website. According to UPI, the president talked turkey: “‘There’s no sugar-coating it ... Nobody’s more frustrated about that than I am. I want the cash registers to work and the checkout line to be smooth ... And there’s no excuse for the problems. [These] problems are getting fixed. But while we’re working out the kinks in the system, I want everybody to understand the nature of the problem.’

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll