Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 27, 2013

ED VASICEK: It's a jungle out there

Obama can't dodge entanglement

As a lad, I remem-ber watching Buster Crabb on Saturday mornings, as local stations aired old movies. “Flash Gordon” and “Buck Rogers” were my favorites, but I also watched a number of jungle-based Tarzan movies. Back then, “rain forests” were called “jungles.”

The word “jungle” developed a broader meaning over the years. Webster sometimes defines it as “an impenetrable thicket or tangled mass of tropical vegetation,” but at other times as “a confused or disordered mass of objects” or “a place of ruthless struggle for survival.” Jungles often include animals, violence and entanglements.

Take animals. Sometimes it can be a jungle even at Walmart! According to Yahoo Odd News, “The Apopka, Florida police were called out when a 6-foot long alligator strolled outside of the city’s local Walmart ... the uninvited visitor walked near the store’s automatic sliding doors and lingered, causing the doors to open and close. Walmart employees took precautions by locking the doors ... But by the time the trapper arrived, the gator had already made its exit.”

Compared to that experience, our local Walmart seems pretty tame — even on a Saturday! But watch out for those deadly bunny rabbits! Have I been watching old Monty Python movies? No, rabbits can be dangerous — at least in Scotland. Note this item from the AFP:

“The windswept Scottish island of Canna is home to just 12 people — and 16,000 rabbits. But thousands of the bunnies are set to be culled after their frantic burrowing caused a landslide, officials said Monday ... A landslide on Canna last week is being partly blamed on underground rabbit warrens which weakened the soil structure...”

Looks like the Scots will soon be eating German cuisine. Hasenpfeffer, to be exact!

Getting slightly more serious, President Obama recently apologized for the messed-up Obamacare website. According to UPI, the president talked turkey: “‘There’s no sugar-coating it ... Nobody’s more frustrated about that than I am. I want the cash registers to work and the checkout line to be smooth ... And there’s no excuse for the problems. [These] problems are getting fixed. But while we’re working out the kinks in the system, I want everybody to understand the nature of the problem.’

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll