Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 2, 2013

Nov. 2, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Thanks for helping family with van

Liz Surbey of Bunker Hill sends this Cheer for the community:

“I am writing this to thank the following businesses for contributing goods or financial donations for the community fundraiser to provide a handicapped equipped van for Darrell and Lori Gillem. Thank you to all sponsors, contributors and volunteers who made this event a success:

“Manna from Heaven Cakery, Kokomo Perspective, Golden Corral, Half Moon Brewery, Alison Brantley (31 Consultant), McGonigal’s, Lowe’s, Wal-Mart, Mike’s Car Wash, Ducky’s, Discount Tire, Rent-a-Center, Joy Christian Bookstore, Hacienda, Urban Outreach for food and paper products, Kokomo Auto World, Country Catfish, Spray Tan’s Patty Thatcher, Orange Leaf Frozen Yogurt, Today’s Nails, Button Motors, Eriks Chevrolet, Adams Auto Group, Menard’s, AT&T, Little Caesar’s, Jamey Fredrickson, Shane Cottle, Successful Financial Planning.”

Pals rescues 12,000 pets in 11 years

Mary Helen Wilborn-Rouse of Pals for Paws sends this Cheer:

“Pals for Paws would like to thank the citizens of Kokomo for their participation in our animal rescue efforts! With our spay/neuter grant money, we have been able to assist the public in spaying and neutering 2,728 pets over the past two years! When you consider that an unspayed pet, its mate and all of their offspring can each produce approximately 12 new animals annually, it equals a lot of lives saved thanks to compassionate citizens like you who wish to help decrease our area’s overpopulation crisis!

“Through adoption and private donations, Pals for Paws has been able to rescue more than 12,000 animals since 2002! We are truly grateful to all of the families who open their homes to our rescued pets and give them the wonderful life they truly deserve! Every animal we are able to adopt out makes room for one more to be saved. Thank you for choosing adoption! This year we have been able to rescue, pay for medical care, and adopt out rehabilitated animals with severe medical needs such as mange, broken legs, torn ACLs, severe dental and organ issues, and gunshot wounds. We could not help these animals without tips from concerned citizens and donations.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll