Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 3, 2013

MICHAEL HICKS: The ACA into the future

Website must work for more than 30 million homes.

It is far too early to call the rollout of the Affordable Care Act a failure; most new programs have rocky starts, but this one has most of the signs of inevitable failure. If the situation doesn’t remedy itself quickly, the complete redo of the law (which I predicted some weeks ago) will be hastened considerably. Let me explain.

Anyone who has participated in a large-scale technology overhaul knows how long they take and how many elements perform dismally with the first tests. I managed one and participated in two others over the past 25 years, and the best of them, which is still ongoing here at Ball State, has consumed three years and many tens of millions of dollars, many of which are not captured by cost estimates. This is for an organization of fewer than 30,000 people. The ACA requires a less complex technology, but one that must work for more than 30 million American households — one-third of whom are functionally illiterate, and another third of whom have no home computers or Internet access. That is beyond the scope of the technology.

As the president rightly notes, the failure of the website does not mean a failure of health care, but what he will shortly acknowledge is that unless the website works really well, much of the rest of the legislation will fail.

One admirable feature of the ACA that any future health care law will wrestle with is that it is designed to pull everyone into the health care insurance marketplace. The goal of this is to spread risk across the entire population and so reduce premiums. In the coming months insurers will set premiums based upon the actual health risk of participants. If the folks registering for the ACA are all young healthy folks, then premiums could fall while Medicaid costs will rise. If those who register are in the most need of insurance (the older and sicker of the 30 million households), then premiums will rise. Simple economics suggest that if premiums drop, and the website improves, more will sign on. If premiums rise, many will drop coverage, leading to increasingly higher premiums and even more dropping coverage. This “death spiral” will cause the ACA to fail, and expedite serious reforms to the law. So here are my predictions.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll