Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 10, 2013

Vasicek: How we die in the U.S.

Because we in the West have been greatly influenced by Judo-Christian ethics, most of us place a high premium upon human life. If man is indeed in God’s image, then man is more than a merely advanced animal and thus possesses a special dignity. Although other ethical systems may champion a high view of human life, it is this particular ethic (ingrained in Western culture), combining with other supporting factors, that has fueled the momentum for amazing advances in health and longevity.

As I was perusing the Kokomo Tribune, I was saddened to read about the accidental death of a man in his 20s (and I express my sympathies to his family). The same edition offered this headline, “State’s infant mortality rates worsening.” Although death and taxes are inevitable, premature death is particularly painful.

Today’s column is about leading causes of death in the U.S. It may surprise you. In his book, “Thinking Fast and Slow,” Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahneman writes about a study in perception. This research was conducted by a team headed by Paul Slovic. The study demonstrated how media-driven our perceptions about “causes of death” are. Someone dying of heart failure at age 60, for example, rarely makes the headlines.

“Tornadoes were seen as more frequent killers than asthma, although the latter causes 20 times more deaths. Death by lightning was judged less likely than death by botulism even though it is 52 times more frequent. Death by disease is 18 times as likely as death by accidental death, but the two were judged to be equally likely. Death by [auto] accident was judged to be more than 300 times more likely than death by diabetes, but the true ratio is 1:4.”

According the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2010 stats), the average American lives to the ripe old age of 78.7, nearly 79. Nearly 2.5 million people died in the U.S. in 2010, and nearly 600,000 of them died from heart disease, the leading cause of death. Next on the list was cancer, with 575,000 deaths. After that, we see a big drop off. Respiratory disease took about 138,000, stroke about 129,000, accidents (of all kinds) about 121,000 (about 33,000 of those deaths were from car accidents, according to NHTSA). Alzheimer's disease took about 83,000, and diabetes about 69,000. The list continues with kidney disease taking 50,000, influenza and pneumonia 50,000, and suicide 38,000.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

  • Wolfsie: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It’s a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 21, 2014

  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll