Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

November 12, 2013

MAUREEN HAYDEN: VanNess must convince others to restore funding

Lawmakers oppose expanding health care

Gov. Mike Pence opened the state’s Infant Mortality Summit last week by sharing a personal story: He and his wife had struggled with infertility issues early in their marriage, so the eventual arrival of their three children was met with deep gratitude and appreciation.

“Anybody who knows me, knows I have a Ph.D. in ‘Dad,’” he said. Pence went on to promise his audience of public health officials that a key goal of his administration will be to reduce the number of babies in Indiana dying before their first birthday.

It’s an ambitious goal. Over the last decade, Indiana has dropped from 32nd to 45th in the nation in infant mortality rates — a ranking Pence called “deplorable.”

There are multiple causes for the state’s high rate of 7.7 deaths for every 1,000 live births, with many linked to the state’s poor overall health and the lack of access to health care.

A majority of babies less than 1 year old die due to complications related to birth defects, premature births or a mother’s weight, age or illness. More Hoosier women smoke while pregnant — almost 17 percent in Indiana vs. 9 percent nationally — and they’re more likely to be obese.

Indiana mothers are also less likely to breastfeed; more likely to sleep in the same bed with their infants, putting babies at risk for suffocation; and increasingly likely to have doctors who are electing, for convenience rather than medical need, to deliver babies before they reach full term. Also, more than one-third of pregnant women in Indiana don’t get any prenatal care during the critical first trimester.

“Indiana is consistently one of the worst in the U.S.,” said Indiana Health Commissioner William VanNess. “It’s not that a lot of good people haven’t worked on this, but we haven’t been able to stop the heartbreak.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll