Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 31, 2013

House of Burgess: Nobody wants to see that

Weiner, Sanford, Spitzer, Filner can't be contained.

I never thought basic political reportage could be deemed not safe for work. But lately, when I walk to my vehicle at night, I’m halfway on the lookout for public servants in raincoats ready to jump out at me from every alley.

In my May 1 column, “Wait, how did you get back in?”, I wrote about the unlikely re-emergence of both former South Carolina governor and current U.S. Rep. Mark “Appalachian Trail” Sanford, and former congressman and current New York mayoral candidate Anthony “Carlos Danger” Weiner. Since that column was published, Sanford defeated comedian Stephen Colbert’s sister, Elizabeth Colbert Busch, in the special election for Tim Scott’s old seat. And Weiner was riding high atop the polls in the wake of a front page New York Times Magazine article alongside his wife, Huma.

Everything was going so well. But then, the website The Dirty’s editor Nik Richie broke his own rules to bring new uncensored photos of Weiner to light on July 23.

“Today is the first time in our company history that TheDirty.com has published extreme nude images without censor because New York deserves better leadership than this,” wrote Richie.

This news was staggering as these messages were sent post scandal. Weiner’s life fell apart, and still he couldn’t help himself. To me, it’s not what happened so much as how it happened.

It’s the lying. It’s the elaborate web of deceit associated with it. When he was first busted in 2011, he claimed hackers had infiltrated his Twitter account. He later admitted the truth and quit Congress, but not before wasting everyone’s time with his squirming.

On July 23, he called a press conference in which he dismissed questions about the timelines involved in the sending of the explicit messages. And keep in mind, he was mailing these graphic representations to this young woman in Princeton, Ind., even after that New York Times Magazine article I mentioned earlier. This was long after he had hit bottom.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll