Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

December 11, 2012

Editorial - Dec. 11, 2012: A harbinger of frustration?

The issue: State Board of Education’s approval last week of new rules for teaching licenses.

Our view: Move could be a bad sign for supporters of the state’s new schools superintendent.

 

A move by the State Board of Education to adopt new rules for educator licensing might illustrate just how little influence the state’s new schools superintendent, Glenda Ritz, could have in slowing down the reforms of current schools chief Tony Bennett.

The board’s action came in spite of a plea from Ritz to postpone a decision until after she takes office next month. Ritz had opposed the new rules in her campaign, saying they threatened to diminish the standards of the teaching profession.

Indiana colleges and universities see the new rules as a direct assault. They say eliminating the requirement for teacher training will diminish the teaching profession and make it difficult to attract the best and brightest.

Teachers unions predict the changes will bring a return of the nepotism and cronyism of years gone by.

Supporters, though, argue the new rules don’t require local school districts to do anything. They simply give school corporations more flexibility, expanding the pool of candidates.

One of the more controversial changes is a new “adjunct teaching permit” that allows someone who earned a four-year college degree with a 3.0 grade point average to earn a credential to teach by passing an exam that proves proficiency in the subject area. The board added a “pedagogy requirement” that requires teachers with an adjunct permit to score well on future evaluations and to take college or other professional development courses to renew their teaching licenses.

Another area of contention involved “content area exams.” Bennett and his staff wanted the board to approve rules that would allow teachers who already held a teaching license to be able to gain certification in additional subject areas by taking a test rather than additional college-level coursework. The board approved a revised rule that allows teachers to “test into” some subject areas but not others, including special education, elementary education, early childhood education and English as a second language.

And in what could be construed as a direct affront to the new schools chief, the board voted to transfer the power to approve teacher-training programs away from the Indiana Department of Education and to the State Board of Education.

The vote could be a harbinger of things to come. If it is, Ritz supporters could be looking at a frustrating four years.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll