Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 14, 2013

Flooded roads imperil drivers

THE ISSUE: The potential for flooded roadways after heavy rain.

OUR VIEW: Take care when driving in low-lying areas after significant precipitation.

With heavy hearts we reported Monday morning the death of 2012 Northwestern High School graduate and Ball State University student Blake Taylor.

Taylor was returning to campus Sunday evening when his car hydroplaned on a flooded portion of Ind. 26 near Fairmount, a Grant County sheriff deputy said. The Kokomo man’s car flipped over in a ditch filled with 4 to 5 feet of water.

Two sheriff deputies and a Fairmount police officer broke out one of Taylor’s car windows in an attempt to free him but couldn’t. The officers then used tow straps to pull the car onto the roadway.

Taylor died at Marion General Hospital.

The sort of heavy rain that soaked the area Saturday and Sunday makes flooding a real threat in north central Indiana, as streams and rivers overflow their banks. Flash floods can come rapidly and unexpectedly.

Flash flooding can occur after a few minutes of heavy rainfall or after hours of significant precipitation. Hoosiers who live in flood-prone areas should always be conscious of the threat of flash floods when significant rain strikes – as should state and county officials.

In the interest of public safety, they should act quickly to close roads and highways when they’re flooded. Ind. 26 was not closed at the time of Sunday’s tragic accident.

Indiana State Police offer these tips when flooding occurs.

Don’t travel unless absolutely necessary. If you have to travel, carry a cellphone with a car charger.

Purchase a weather scanner and heed all flood and flash flood warnings issued by the National Weather Service.

Do not drive around barricades at water crossings.

Be especially vigilant at night. Many drowning deaths occur at night when it is difficult to see water crossings.

Do not cross or enter flowing water. Driving fast through high water on the road is not a solution. Faster speeds create less tire contact with the road surface and increase your chance of crashing.

Driving through standing water may affect your brakes. Test your brakes at low speeds as soon as you exit the water.

If you choose to abandon your vehicle, respect the force of the water flow, you may be swept off your feet. After you exit the vehicle, seek higher ground.

Be aware that road erosion may occur when there is running or standing water.

Remember that 6 inches of water will reach the bottoms of most car doors. One foot of water will float many vehicles, and 2 feet of moving water can carry away most vehicles. If you find yourself stranded in flood waters remain calm and call 911. If you can do so safely, move to higher ground.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll