Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 14, 2013

Flooded roads imperil drivers

THE ISSUE: The potential for flooded roadways after heavy rain.

OUR VIEW: Take care when driving in low-lying areas after significant precipitation.

With heavy hearts we reported Monday morning the death of 2012 Northwestern High School graduate and Ball State University student Blake Taylor.

Taylor was returning to campus Sunday evening when his car hydroplaned on a flooded portion of Ind. 26 near Fairmount, a Grant County sheriff deputy said. The Kokomo man’s car flipped over in a ditch filled with 4 to 5 feet of water.

Two sheriff deputies and a Fairmount police officer broke out one of Taylor’s car windows in an attempt to free him but couldn’t. The officers then used tow straps to pull the car onto the roadway.

Taylor died at Marion General Hospital.

The sort of heavy rain that soaked the area Saturday and Sunday makes flooding a real threat in north central Indiana, as streams and rivers overflow their banks. Flash floods can come rapidly and unexpectedly.

Flash flooding can occur after a few minutes of heavy rainfall or after hours of significant precipitation. Hoosiers who live in flood-prone areas should always be conscious of the threat of flash floods when significant rain strikes – as should state and county officials.

In the interest of public safety, they should act quickly to close roads and highways when they’re flooded. Ind. 26 was not closed at the time of Sunday’s tragic accident.

Indiana State Police offer these tips when flooding occurs.

Don’t travel unless absolutely necessary. If you have to travel, carry a cellphone with a car charger.

Purchase a weather scanner and heed all flood and flash flood warnings issued by the National Weather Service.

Do not drive around barricades at water crossings.

Be especially vigilant at night. Many drowning deaths occur at night when it is difficult to see water crossings.

Do not cross or enter flowing water. Driving fast through high water on the road is not a solution. Faster speeds create less tire contact with the road surface and increase your chance of crashing.

Driving through standing water may affect your brakes. Test your brakes at low speeds as soon as you exit the water.

If you choose to abandon your vehicle, respect the force of the water flow, you may be swept off your feet. After you exit the vehicle, seek higher ground.

Be aware that road erosion may occur when there is running or standing water.

Remember that 6 inches of water will reach the bottoms of most car doors. One foot of water will float many vehicles, and 2 feet of moving water can carry away most vehicles. If you find yourself stranded in flood waters remain calm and call 911. If you can do so safely, move to higher ground.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll