Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 17, 2013

Drug test lawmakers?

A state senator has reintroduced a measure this legislative session that asks welfare recipients in three yet-to-be-determined counties to consent to random drug tests.

The bill, sponsored by Sen. Dennis Kruse, R-Auburn, is designed to address a public perception that people on the dole are using tax dollars to support their drug habits.

Never mind that the state has no statistics to back up this assumption or that a similar program in Florida actually found just 2 percent of recipients tested positive for drugs.

And never mind that the targets of the measure might not be its only victims, that innocent children might be deprived of benefits because of a parent’s bad behavior.

The idea here is to make certain that hard-earned tax dollars aren’t going to support anyone’s destructive habits.

It’s a concept many of us can support. No one likes the image of poor people getting high on the public’s dime.

Frankly, saving individuals and families from the ravages of drug abuse is a worthy goal. If the state can accomplish that through this program, which was estimated to cost $1.1 million for a three-county pilot program during the last legislative session, it might turn out to be a good investment.

After all, if we truly can get drug-addicted welfare recipients the help they need to get their lives back on track, the result should be to reduce welfare costs and increase tax revenues.

Still, Kruse’s effort at this point is driven by perception, and given that, it might well make sense to propose these tests not only for welfare recipients but for the lawmakers themselves — just as legislators did in the last session.

That measure would’ve required legislators to consent to a test or give up privileges such as an office, a parking space or other amenities. It also would’ve given the Senate president or House speaker the authority to order a test based on reasonable suspicion that a legislator was using drugs.

The test results for lawmakers would’ve been a matter of public record, as would have the list of those who consented to a test and those who refused.

That still seems reasonable to us.

After all, what’s good for the goose is good for the gander, right? Shouldn’t lawmakers who are voting to test welfare recipients be willing to undergo the same tests?

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll