Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 1, 2013

Editorial - Feb. 1, 2013: New training a good idea

The issue: Requiring police training on how to handle encounters with people suffering from Alzheimer’s disease.

Our view: With increases in the number of people with the disease, adding training makes sense.

 

In the United States, an estimated 5.4 million people are living with Alzheimer’s disease. That’s 1 in 63 people.

And unless something is done to change the trajectory of the disease, as many as 16 million Americans will have Alzheimer’s by 2050, according to the Alzheimer’s Association.

Here in Indiana, we’re on the same path as the nation.

In 2000, 100,000 Hoosiers over the age of 65 suffered from the disease. By 2010, there was a 20 percent jump in the number of patients. If we stay the course, that number is expected to jump to 130,000 by 2025.

As the disease becomes more prevalent, Rep. Bill Friend, R-Macy, accurately points out, instances of officers encountering people with Alzheimer’s will likely go up.

With that in mind, Friend introduced a bill earlier this month that would require all law enforcement officers in the state to receive training regarding people with Alzheimer’s disease.

All this stems from an incident at a Peru nursing home in which a police officer used a stun gun on a 64-year-old nursing home resident with advanced-stage Alzheimer’s five times.

While it’s unfortunately too late for that patient, this bill should do well to help others like him.

All too often, those suffering from Alzheimer’s find themselves in precarious situations and on the wrong side of the law through no fault of their own. The disease steals away their independence and ability to interact with others. Oftentimes, it leaves the patient without the ability to follow simple commands.

That’s a dangerous mix when an officer is unfamiliar with how to handle a situation involving someone affected by the disease.

“With more training, hopefully we’ll avoid a situation like this from ever happening again,” Friend said.

We couldn’t agree more.

Officers already undergo training on autism, mental illness, addictive disorders, mental retardation and developmental disabilities. Tacking Alzheimer’s disease or related senile dementia onto that list just makes sense.

The bill has been referred to the Senate for a vote, with Republican Randy Head and Democrat Jim Arnold sponsoring it.

We commend the House for seeing the need for this bill and encourage the Senate to follow the House’s lead.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll