Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 2, 2013

Day: Those ‘golden years’

As we grow older and sometimes wiser, we find things we did not know about or even cared to learn about. We find those “golden years” which we have looked forward to are really not that great.

With them comes illness, being tired a lot, not wanting to get out of bed sometimes, and putting on a few extra pounds. We find out those clothes we thought we would use the rest of our lives have to be replaced.

Your eating habits change, too, because of losing your teeth and not being able to afford new dentures, along with the reflux you get from certain foods.

As for friends, only the true ones will have the gumption to tell you that you stink and could use a bath. The ones who laugh and make fun of you are not true friends and, really, you can do without them.

And the money you have been saving so that you can live close to the way you did in the early years seems to not be enough for you. You go out to find a job, and you are told there just isn’t too much available in the job field.

Then there are the young ones who always say, “Grandpa, it really wasn’t like that, was it?” Kids just don’t want to believe we and those before us actually had to work for what we received. In today’s world, there are many young folk, along with an alarming number of folks my age, who think the hand should be out to receive and not to work with.

So as we enter the golden years, are we better or worse off? We should be, because no more do you have to rise at the early hours of the day, nor do you have to stay with a certain task for eight hours like it was in earlier times. No more packing a lunch to eat at a time set forth by your boss, and then find out that some things are not in the bag. No more breathing the air that is full of smoke.

Oh wait, there are still those out there who are filling our air with their smoking. So, as we grow older, we still have those things that linger on and play a drastic happening to our bodies and those we love.

When we really get down to some heavy thought, we have not changed things that much. Our golden years will still be ones we love, because it is what we have waiting for all those working years. We take it one day at a time, and we enjoy our lives the same.

As we grow older in years, we wonder what we could have done differently and, really, what we did was live our lives, supported our families and kept the bills paid. Maybe what we have to show for it is what it should be.

We took life and we lived it. We treasure all the memories that came with those years and, darn it, if that wasn’t enough, then go sit in the corner and feel the closeness of the two walls around you. Get out of that corner and enjoy the time you have left, because it can be the best time of all.

We are weak, but we are strong in the thoughts that life was given to us to enjoy and not to let it go by way of thoughts of despair. One day at a time, with the thought at the end of the day, that we made the most of it. Love life to the highest, and let God bless.

Ray “Uncle Ray” Day is a weekly contributor to the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at uncleray@earthlink.net.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll