Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

February 2, 2013

Day: Those ‘golden years’

As we grow older and sometimes wiser, we find things we did not know about or even cared to learn about. We find those “golden years” which we have looked forward to are really not that great.

With them comes illness, being tired a lot, not wanting to get out of bed sometimes, and putting on a few extra pounds. We find out those clothes we thought we would use the rest of our lives have to be replaced.

Your eating habits change, too, because of losing your teeth and not being able to afford new dentures, along with the reflux you get from certain foods.

As for friends, only the true ones will have the gumption to tell you that you stink and could use a bath. The ones who laugh and make fun of you are not true friends and, really, you can do without them.

And the money you have been saving so that you can live close to the way you did in the early years seems to not be enough for you. You go out to find a job, and you are told there just isn’t too much available in the job field.

Then there are the young ones who always say, “Grandpa, it really wasn’t like that, was it?” Kids just don’t want to believe we and those before us actually had to work for what we received. In today’s world, there are many young folk, along with an alarming number of folks my age, who think the hand should be out to receive and not to work with.

So as we enter the golden years, are we better or worse off? We should be, because no more do you have to rise at the early hours of the day, nor do you have to stay with a certain task for eight hours like it was in earlier times. No more packing a lunch to eat at a time set forth by your boss, and then find out that some things are not in the bag. No more breathing the air that is full of smoke.

Oh wait, there are still those out there who are filling our air with their smoking. So, as we grow older, we still have those things that linger on and play a drastic happening to our bodies and those we love.

When we really get down to some heavy thought, we have not changed things that much. Our golden years will still be ones we love, because it is what we have waiting for all those working years. We take it one day at a time, and we enjoy our lives the same.

As we grow older in years, we wonder what we could have done differently and, really, what we did was live our lives, supported our families and kept the bills paid. Maybe what we have to show for it is what it should be.

We took life and we lived it. We treasure all the memories that came with those years and, darn it, if that wasn’t enough, then go sit in the corner and feel the closeness of the two walls around you. Get out of that corner and enjoy the time you have left, because it can be the best time of all.

We are weak, but we are strong in the thoughts that life was given to us to enjoy and not to let it go by way of thoughts of despair. One day at a time, with the thought at the end of the day, that we made the most of it. Love life to the highest, and let God bless.

Ray “Uncle Ray” Day is a weekly contributor to the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at uncleray@earthlink.net.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll